Rush Me, by: Allison Parr

Rush Me
by Allison Parr

When post-grad Rachael Hamilton accidentally gatecrashes a pro-athlete party, she ends up face-to-face with Ryan Carter, the NFL’s most beloved quarterback.

While most girls would be thrilled to meet the attractive young millionaire, Rachael would rather spend time with books than at sporting events, and she has more important things to worry about than romance. Like her parents pressuring her to leave her unpaid publishing internship for law school. Or her brother, who’s obliviously dating Rachael’s high school bully. Or that same high school’s upcoming reunion.

Still, when Ryan’s rookie teammate attaches himself to Rachael, she ends up cohosting Friday night dinners for half a dozen football players.

Over pancake brunches, charity galas, and Alexander the Great Rachael realizes all the judgments she’d made about Ryan are wrong. But how can a Midwestern Irish-Catholic jock with commitment problems and an artsy, gun-shy Jewish New Englander ever forge a partnership? Rachael must let down her barriers if she wants real love–even if that opens her up to pain that could send her back into her emotional shell forever.

My Thoughts:

This book seems to be getting a wide range of reviews. First off this is not a fast and light read. It is a thought provoking book. It is a smart and witty. There is a lot of lead up to the love part of this story. There are a lot of books out there that rush into the relationship and the sex without building characters and the relationships. Not that there is anything wrong with that, I actually like those books. This one just had a little something… more.

Rachel is a twenty-something struggling to survive in NYC. She is a proud woman who wants to make a name for herself doing the thing she loves, publishing books. She is a book loving nerdy girl. One night while out with friends, she accidentally crashes a party, a pro-football party. While at the party she meets Ryan Carter.

Ryan Carter meets a woman who baffles him. In a city full of fans he finally meets someone who has no idea who he is. And she gives him an earful. They develop a tenuous friendship. That friendship develops into something a little bit more.

Shocked into silence, I snapped my mouth shut and followed him. Guerrilla compliments; conqueror of sarcasm.

Rachel is little proud and a lot scared. Ryan is a lot stubborn and a little insecure. This book takes us on their journey to find something more.

I lifted my lips that last half inch between us and pressed them against his. For a heartbeat, the kiss was soft and tender, newly born. I could feel his heartbeat under my hand, could feel my pulse leaping in my throat.

I loved this book. It was smart and funny and left me feeling warm and fuzzy. I loved the back-story of the old high school flames and the annoying girl who you love to hate. I would recommend it to someone who loves romance with HEA with a little something… more.

5 Stars!

red_star_5_of_5-bb0a37528bbb2ff1f4b732afff2bb968

**This book was given by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.**

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2013, 5 Stars- Best of the Best, Contemporary Romance, Heather's reviews, Romance and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

