Ten Tiny Breaths (Ten Tiny Breaths #1), by K.A. Tucker


Ten Tiny Breaths (Ten Tiny Breaths #1)
by K.A. Tucker

Just breathe, Kacey. Ten tiny breaths. Seize them. Feel them. Love them.

Four years ago Kacey Cleary’s life imploded when her car was hit by a drunk driver, killing her parents, boyfriend, and best friend. Still haunted by memories of being trapped inside, holding her boyfriend’s lifeless hand and listening to her mother take her last breath, Kacey wants to leave her past behind. Armed with two bus tickets, twenty-year-old Kacey and her fifteen-year-old sister, Livie, escape Grand Rapids, Michigan, to start over in Miami. Struggling to make ends meet, Kacey needs to figure out how to get by. But Kacey’s not worried. She can handle anything—anything but her mysterious neighbor in apartment 1D.

Trent Emerson has smoldering blue eyes, deep dimples, and he perfectly skates that irresistible line between nice guy and bad boy. Hardened by her tragic past, Kacey is determined to keep everyone at a distance, but their mutual attraction is undeniable and Trent is determined to find a way into Kacey’s guarded heart—even if it means that an explosive secret could shatter both their worlds.

My Thoughts:

Kacey is a young woman who finds herself running from a past she can’t escape. Both of her parents were killed in a horrible car accident that she is forced to relive every night in her sleep. She is tormented by the accident that she alone survived. Her sister Livie, was spared from being in the car because she was home sick that night. Livie is now her only concern. She and Livie are running from their Aunt and Uncle. They are trying to start over and Kacey is determined that they will make it on their own.

Trent is a guy with a past of his own. When Kacey sees he is the new guy in apartment 1d. She steers clear of him. The only problem is that she feels inexplicably drawn to him. Even though she tries desperately to resist him, she finds herself giving in to his advances and soon her heart is on the line.

Trent has a past that doesn’t stay hidden for long and soon Kasey has to face hers as well. Will she drown or will she learn to swim?

This book had my heart breaking. I knew there was a big twist coming and I had a feeling I knew what it was, and I was right…

Even though it was somewhat easy to spot, the plot twists are so well done you can’t help but love this book. The author takes you into the heart and soul of a young woman who is drowning in fear and hate. She is wound so tight she is bound to break and Trent may be the one to save her, unless she can learn to save herself.

I loved this book. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a sweet, angst-filled, thrilling and sexy ride.

★★★★★

5 Gut-wrenching Stars!

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2013, 5 Stars- Best of the Best, Contemporary Romance, Heather's reviews, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

