The Bet, by Rachel Van Dyken


The Bet
by Rachel Van Dyken

“I have a proposition for you…”
Kacey should have run the minute those words left Seattle millionaire Jake Titus’s mouth. Instead, she made a deal with the devil in hopes of putting her past behind her once and for all.
Four days.
She could do four days!
But she wasn’t counting on Jake’s older brother Travis being there to witness their farce of an engagement.
One thing is for certain.
One brother is right for her.
One wants a lifetime.
And one is in league with the devil.
She should have gotten Jake’s signature in blood.

My Thoughts:
This book was exactly what I needed. It was a lighthearted romance with some seriously sweet moments.

Kacey grew up next door to Jake and Travis. While Jake was a smooth talker, Travis was always being mean to her. In high school, Kacey fell in love with Jake…

but Jake was too busy being in love with himself.

Kasey looses her parents and her best friend in one night and will never be the same. She takes off and doesn’t look back.

Travis, forever waiting in the wings, felt like he would never get a chance with Kacey. He was not the smooth talker that Jake was. He was a little shy and a lot dorky. But now, he’s all grown up, and man has he ever changed…

Jake needs a favor from Kasey. His father has retired from his multibillion dollar company and now Jake is in charge. Jake’s fast and loose lifestyle is not sitting well with the board. So he asks Kasey to go home with him for a weekend and pose as his fiance for the press. Kasey reluctantly agrees. The only saving grace in her mind is that Travis wont be there to torment her.

She arrives at home for the first time since her parents died. She has to face her past. She has to deal with her unresolved feelings for Jake and she has to discover the real reason Travis has tormented her.

This book was full of tough topics but was done in a lighthearted and funny way. It wasn’t heavy at all. I absolutely adored this writing style and the flow of the book. And the end..


LOVED IT!

4 stars.

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2013, 4 Stars, Contemporary Romance, Heather's reviews, Romance. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

