Sweet Thing, by Renee Carlino

Sweet Thing
by Renee Carlino

Mia Kelly is a twenty-five-year-old walking Gap ad who thinks she has life figured out when her father’s sudden death uproots her from slow-paced Ann Arbor to New York City’s bustling East Village. There she discovers her father’s spirit for life and the legacy he left behind with the help of an old café, a few eccentric friends, and one charming musician.

Will Ryan is good-looking, poetic, spontaneous, and on the brink of fame when he meets Mia, his new landlord, muse, and personal heartbreaker.

A story of self-discovery and friendship, Sweet Thing shines light on the power of loving and letting go.

BorderBorder

Heather’s Thoughts:

Love, Love, Love this book.

This is my revised and updated review. I re-read this book in anticipation for the release of Sweet Little Thing. I was immediately reminded why I fell in love with this book in the first place. The writing is divine and heartbreaking. I felt so much angst reading this book that I had to keep reminding myself that it would all be OK. There is nothing better than a heartfelt and amazingly written romance.

Mia is a young woman heading from Detroit to NYC to take over her father’s business and apartment after his untimely death. On the plane ride there she sits by Will, who is an attractive young man. He is petrified of flying. Mia strikes up a conversation to help calm Will’s nerves and discover that they actually have a lot in common.

Will is a musician. Mia is also into music but is trying to be practical and not a “flighty musician” She has a business degree and she is determined to make something of her life. She was surrounded by musician types growing up and she has decided that she wants more in life. Mia wants the financial stability that is rare with artists.

Will is a struggling musician living in a storage unit. Exactly the kind of man she wants to avoid at all costs.

Mia decides to take a roommate, and Will is there to fill the room. But he ends up filling more than the room, he begins to fill her heart. Mia is bound and determined that she will not let Will in. She knows that he is going to break her heart and that he is not the right guy for her.

Mia is trying to reconcile who she is, who she wants to be and what she can become.

“You have to teach your heart and mind how to sing together… then you’ll hear the sound of your soul.”

No matter what she tells herself or how hard she tries, she can’t help but fall helplessly and madly in love with him. He is extremely talented and has a potentially bright future in music. But she can’t so easily turn her back on her plans for her future.

Will waits patiently hoping that Mia will see what they have for what it is. Together they are magic and he knows it, but she is running scared. She makes bumbling mistake after bumbling mistake. Some of them were cringe worthy and made me literally ache for them.

This was poignant and heartbreaking. I absolutely adored this book. I fell in love with Will and Mia. I loved that they were facing the real trouble of a young twenty-somethings trying to muddle through life and figure out what they want. Mia struggles to deal with the loss of her father in the only way she knows how. Will is her rock, and her best friend.

The story is written from Mia’s point of view. The characters were very well done and the music, oh the music. It adds a whole other dimension to this story. Mia is a musician as well but she had turned her back on who she was. Will helps her to become who she was meant to be. He gives the best kind of love. The kind that loves you for your faults and sees who you can be. He challenges her to live up to her full potential and be the person she was meant to become. Will is the other half of her soul and it nearly killed me watching Mia make so many mistakes.

This book is so worth ALL of the heartache!

I can’t rave enough about this book! LOVED IT!

5 Rocking Glorious Stars

red_star_5_of_5-bb0a37528bbb2ff1f4b732afff2bb968

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2013, 5 Stars- Best of the Best, Contemporary Romance, Heather's reviews, Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sweet Thing, by Renee Carlino

  1. Pingback: Sweet Little Thing (Sweet Thing #1.5) by Renée Carlino | Reading Haven

Leave a Reply

