After Hours, by Cara McKenna

16104369

 

A dangerous infatuation with a rough and ready man…

Erin Coffey has been a nurse for years, but nothing’s prepared her for the physical and emotional demands of her new position. Needing to move closer to her dysfunctional family, she takes a dangerous job at Larkhaven Psychiatric Hospital, where she quickly learns that she needs protection—and she meets the strong, over-confident coworker who’s more than willing to provide it.

Kelly Robak is the type of guy that Erin has sworn she’d never get involved with. She’s seen firsthand, via her mess of a sister, what chaos guys like him can bring into a woman’s life. But she finds herself drawn to him anyway, even when he shows up at her door, not eager to take no for an answer.

What Erin finds even more shocking than Kelly’s indecent proposal is how much she enjoys submitting to his every command. But he can’t play the tough guy indefinitely. If they want to have more than just an affair, both will have to open up and reveal what they truly need.

Border

Sammy Loves Books’ Review

Kelly’s an Alpha Male with a Heart of Gold.

4.5“Fuck Me till I’m Cripple” Stars

description

Erin is a new LPN starting a job at a hospital for the mentally disturbed, crazy, sometimes violent patients. She is nervous, dealing with insecurities of being a new hire yet she is a strong independent woman that has never had to rely on anyone other than herself. The last thing she needs is to find herself in a sexual relationship with a co-worker in the first week on the job. So what if she can’t keep her eyes off of him. It’s just that Kelly’s hot, hard body begs for attention. And Erin soon learns that the sparks are mutual, as Kelly pursues her.

“We got a little something between us, don’t we?” …Behind whatever blank expression I’d managed to slap on my face, my common sense and my libido were rolling around pulling each other’s hair, slapping and spitting and fighting to come out on top. Or underneath Kelly Robak, in the case of my libido.

Kelly is a rough around the edges kind of guy. He had to grow up with a drunk dad, became a bouncer at an early age, and now works as an orderly in a loony bin. I love how Erin describes his expression as his “mean face”. I can just see him, with his intense stare and his hot muscular bod. I loved Kelly because he was a straight forward, honest guy. He never played games and was never shy about what he wanted from Erin. Kelly is an alpha that likes things his way, or the highway. That also filters over into his sex life.

description

Kelly confronts Erin on why she is so distant after they have been intimate. As a female, I could totally relate to her trying to protect her heart.

“I just felt like… Like, shit, this sex is insane. And if I don’t remind myself constantly that it’s just sex, I’ll start trying to make it mean something more. It’s hard to not get attached to someone, when they can make you feel that good. And you’re so attracted to them. Plus a part of me didn’twant to like you, that way. You make me feel weaker than I’m comfortable feeling…”

I love the brutal honesty between these two. They communicate well and are beyond intense in bed!! Erin struggles with her desire for Kelly vs her need to not be dependent on him. You can’t be disappointed, if you have no expectations from the start.

I trusted Kelly, and that scared me a little. Skeptiscm and distrust had been the walls keeping my heart safe, keeping falling for him a convient impossibility. If I trusted him, was attracted to him, respected him and felt respected in return…Fuck, what else did a woman need?

relaxed in jeans

How could a woman not fall for Kelly. I sure did.

Kelly laughed and his smile caught me off guard, It changed his face, like clouds had broken and a big beam if Jesus-light had shot sown from heaven to paint the world gold.

This is a beautiful love story with two very likable characters. Kelly turns out to be nothing of what Erin assumes he will be and I loved that. He wasn’t just a hot guy looking to get laid. He had a heart that he was willing to share with the right woman.

” I just want to feel needed by somebody who deserves whatever I got to offer.”

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Cara McKenna’s alpha men are hard working, ordinary, down to earth guys, that are extraordinary in how they love and how they treat those that they love. I can’t get enough of her heros and I have now added Kelly to my list of fictional boyfriends!!

**ARC provided by Netgalley**

red_star_4_of_5-5405838cef8c4750ec26237ed6595e7c

About Sammy Loves Books

I believe in living life to the fullest! Goodreads and Reading Haven provide a wonderful forum for discussing books. I have been exposed to amazing novels and authors I would have never known existed. Books are my favorite form of entertainment and I love writing reviews. I mostly enjoy Paranormal and Historical Romances but have recently broadened my tastes to include Dark Erotica and Gay Romance. I'll read any type of love story if a good friend recommends it to me. Recently, I discovered that I enjoy book editing. It's a hobby of mine actually. When I'm not curled up with a book you may find me swimming. I enjoy wine tasting, football, horror and action flicks. I'm tactfully honest with a wicked sense of humor. I believe in treating people with respect and love. I very rarely will give a book 5 stars unless it Wows me and just knocks me off my feet!! Occasionally, however, I will review Monster erotica books and I use a different rating system for those books. Monster erotica can not be judged against, or even compared to Romance novels. 5 Star monster erotica means it was highly erotic (made me want to be the heroine) and very well written/edited. 4 Star monster erotica is steamy but does not melt your panties. It is also well written/edited. 3 Stars means I enjoyed it, but the erotica was not very stimulating. The writing may not have flowed smoothly. 2 star monster erotica is usually very elementary in plot and world building. The sex is not erotic and the love scenes are short and non descriptive. 1 star monster erotica is torturous to read. The monster may stink, the sex is horrendous or painful, and the writing is often bad, with poor or no editing. So when you see a 5 star rating on a monster sex book, just know that scale has a Very different standard. Follow My Reviews at http://readinghaven.me
Image | This entry was posted in 2013, 4 Stars, Contemporary Romance, Romance, Sammy's Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

