The Reluctant Dom, by Tymber Dalton

6088255

Love hurts…if you’re lucky.

Kaden knows he’s dying, but before he goes, he has one problem he needs to solve – he must ask his oldest friend Seth to take over as his beloved wife’s Dom and Master after his death.

Seth has always seen himself as the perpetual screw-up and Kaden as the strong and steady one, so his friend’s request rocks his world. Now Seth finds himself immersed in a role he’s far from comfortable with: inflicting pain to provide emotional comfort for the woman he’s secretly loved for years. Can he deal with his crushing grief and learn the skills he must master in time to become THE RELUCTANT DOM?

Border

Sammy Loves Books’ Review

2.5 Emotionally Draining Stars

I highly recommend this book to my friends that like touchy-feely heart wrenching, love stories with lots of angst oh and lots of crying.

crying
I however, am not one of those people, so I found this book to be tortuous to read.I have never been so relieved to finish a book. This was a heart wrenching story of Kaden, who had just discovered he had pancreatic cancer and had about a year left to live. Kaden immediately asks Seth, his lifelong best friiend, to not only move in with him, but to mary his wife, Leah, and become her Master after his death. I imagine this was a tearful journey for most as Kaden prepares for his impending death and his wife and Seth deal with their grief.

male crying
I personally don’t care for this type of book, even when well written as this one was. I don’t enjoy hot shower sex, immediately followed by Seth leaning against the tiles sobbing, and this was a frequent occurrence. I got tired of his internal dialogue of “Kaden’s Dying”. He would think this about once or twice a day… throughout the entire book! Short of Seth moving in and learning to be Leah’s new Master, nothing new or interesting happened in the book. I was beyond ready for Kaden to die by the time it happened, not because I’m heartless, but because I had become bored by 60% of the book.

die already
If Kaden’s planning for Seth to marry Leah wasn’t a little weird, things truly got strange after Kaden died. Yes, he died, and I don’t feel that that should qualify as a spoiler. I won’t give much more away as not to ruin the book for those who haven’t read it. This book was a 2 star for me, but it was very well written and I can see how others might could love it.

Warning: m/f/m menage, anal sex/play/toys, BDSM, bondage, D/s relationship, and the lesser-known “normality” of the world of BDSM.

red_star_2_of_5-c2dc927ef819cd002ed176a488737bde

About Sammy Loves Books

I believe in living life to the fullest! Goodreads and Reading Haven provide a wonderful forum for discussing books. I have been exposed to amazing novels and authors I would have never known existed. Books are my favorite form of entertainment and I love writing reviews. I mostly enjoy Paranormal and Historical Romances but have recently broadened my tastes to include Dark Erotica and Gay Romance. I'll read any type of love story if a good friend recommends it to me. Recently, I discovered that I enjoy book editing. It's a hobby of mine actually. When I'm not curled up with a book you may find me swimming. I enjoy wine tasting, football, horror and action flicks. I'm tactfully honest with a wicked sense of humor. I believe in treating people with respect and love. I very rarely will give a book 5 stars unless it Wows me and just knocks me off my feet!! Occasionally, however, I will review Monster erotica books and I use a different rating system for those books. Monster erotica can not be judged against, or even compared to Romance novels. 5 Star monster erotica means it was highly erotic (made me want to be the heroine) and very well written/edited. 4 Star monster erotica is steamy but does not melt your panties. It is also well written/edited. 3 Stars means I enjoyed it, but the erotica was not very stimulating. The writing may not have flowed smoothly. 2 star monster erotica is usually very elementary in plot and world building. The sex is not erotic and the love scenes are short and non descriptive. 1 star monster erotica is torturous to read. The monster may stink, the sex is horrendous or painful, and the writing is often bad, with poor or no editing. So when you see a 5 star rating on a monster sex book, just know that scale has a Very different standard. Follow My Reviews at http://readinghaven.me
Image | This entry was posted in 2 Stars, BDSM, Erotica, Romance, Sammy's Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Reluctant Dom, by Tymber Dalton

  1. I loved the Reluctant Dom. I(I am also a sucker for angsty drama and heartbreaking romance )

Leave a Reply

