If Only (Captured #1) by Louise J.

If Only (Captured #1)
by Louise J.

Callie
What’s a girl to do when she meets a man who claims the heart that she’s already given to someone else? My boyfriend is everything I’ve ever wanted, he’s perfect, but when I met Joe … I can’t even describe the intensity of my attraction to him. I’d never experienced anything like it before. Since then, it’s become something so much deeper and I’m finding it impossible to ignore what I feel for him. I know I’m already with the man I should be with, yet I want Joe. I can’t seem to get my head and my heart to agree on this. I’m not about to cheat and I won’t just drop the man I love. But what do I do about Joe?

Joe
Tattoos, bikes and women – that’s been my life for the last two years and it suited me just fine. Until the day I swerved to avoid a raggedy old VW Bug heading my way, hit the sidewalk, and ended up sprawled on my back. I came around to a pounding headache and the most gorgeous girl I’ve ever seen. Don’t know if it was the effect she had on me, or the accident, but I somehow managed to let her go without exchanging information, more importantly numbers. Maybe it would’ve been better if things had stayed that way. Maybe then I wouldn’t be caught up in this dilemma. I should do what most guys would do and pursue her, regardless of her being in a relationship. Trust me, it’s tempting. The problem is, I’ve been on the receiving end of a situation similar to this, so I know the hurt I could cause and I don’t think I can do that. But I want Callie. I want her bad.

When Callie and Joe met, neither were prepared for the sequence of events that would follow, or the impact of the choices they would go on to make.

If only is book one in the Captured series. Adult Contemporary Romance. This series is not intended for those below 18 years old due to graphic sexual content and use of language.

Heather’s Thoughts:

WARNING: MINOR SPOILERS
This book seriously got on my nerves. How many ways can one screw up a relationship? Let us count the ways…
1) Staying in a relationship with a someone who is not “the right one”.
2) Making assumptions about what others want and not asking.
3) Not sharing your feelings or communicating in any way about said feelings.
4) Running from your fears.
5) Settling for less than because being with the right person is too hard.
6) Not accepting that other peoples lives change and sometimes they have no choice in that matter.
7) NOT COMMUNICATING…AGAIN!

Oh the angst!

Ok, so this was one big cluster fu*k of mistakes. If Only is an apt title. It drove me insane. I know some people liked it but I just couldn’t buy into it and I kept waiting for this angst to work itself out only to be frustrated again.

Callie:

Callie was so cute and sweet and I loved her. She had it all a hot motocross boyfriend and wonderful relationship and love. But she had no idea what “love” really was. Not until a fateful day when she crossed paths with Joe.

Joe:

Joe is a an enigma. He is a super-sweet good boy in a bad boy persona. Yes, he loves women. No, he doesn’t want a relationship. But…if the right girl came along, maybe, just maybe he would change his mind. I wanted to like Joe. He was HOT and he was a tattoo artist. I just wanted to smack him upside the head.

This book made me want to pull my hair out!

I found myself skimming past seemingly unrelated and unimportant parts to got to the good parts. They were few and far between for me. I am so sorry to those of you who loved this book. It was just ok for me. There were LOTS of details that could have been skipped, they did not add to the story, only detracted from it. The lack of communication and naivete of both main characters made me feel like they were thirteen and not twenty-somethings.

I got that they grew and grew up but still…come on.
3 stars for me.

red_star_3_of_5-378bff103b9df21756b9733c0fd3d949

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2013, 3 Stars, Contemporary Romance, Heather's reviews, Romance and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

