Taking Chances (Taking Chances #1) by Molly McAdams

Taking Chances (Taking Chances #1)
by Molly McAdams

Her first year away is turning out to be nearly perfect, but one weekend of giving in to heated passion will change everything.

Eighteen-year-old Harper has grown up under the thumb of her career marine father. Ready to live life her own way and to experience things she’s only ever heard of from the jarheads in her father’s unit, she’s on her way to college at San Diego State University.

Thanks to her new roommate, Harper is introduced to a world of parties, gorgeous guys, family, and emotions. She finds herself being torn in two as she quickly falls in love with both her new boyfriend, Brandon, and her roommate’s brother, Chase. Despite their dangerous looks and histories, both men adore Harper and would do anything for her, including taking a step back if it would mean she’d be happy.

Heather’s Thoughts:

What do I think? I think this book seriously pissed me off. I’d like an alternate ending please. 🙂

I am going to do something slightly different here. This book is very hard to review without giving away what happens. This is one of those books that you read and it seriously messes with your head. I started this book about nine months ago and put it down based on the review of others. I accidentally picked it up again and totally forgot that I didn’t want to read it. The only reason I kept reading is that I got sucked in. Literally sucked in. So here is my hopefully spoiler free review in pictures.

What the hell did I just read!! I do not understand how the author thought this would be ok!

Harper is eighteen and she is going off to college. She has lived a seriously sheltered life. So she gets to school and meets her new roommate and new bestie. They shop, they party, they get piercings and tattoos.

Then BAM! Harper meets Chase and he flirts mercilessly. Then in comes Brandon and BAM! He flirts mercilessly.  They both start arguing over her. She has never dated, never kissed, never, well you get the idea.

Harper is determined to live her life!

They communicate, they fail to communicate, feelings fly everywhere.

Love! First love! But wait. Who is she in love with?

Things move so fast!

Harper…

For some reason, even with her incessant moodiness, her annoying behavior and her being with someone else…

Chase can’t help what he feels.

Then Harper goes a little off her rocker.

Then I am really freaking annoyed with Harper.

Just when I think FINALLY!  The unthinkable happens…. and I will NEVER forgive this author.

Make it go away!!! Redo. I demand a redo!

SO then I realize that this is not a dream….

Molly McAdams….

WHY, WHY, WHY.

Ok, so stop reading now if you don’t want any minor spoilers….

Problems I had with this book:

1) Harper was home schooled, by her father, who only speaks to her once or twice a week….how does that work. Homeschooling is work, hard work. This just does not fit.

2) Chase is dismissed be her as a womanizer because he doesn’t do relationships….Hello? People change and he is a good guy.

3) Somehow Brandon the hothead fighter is so much better than Chase because he has a had a few relationships? What?

5,6,7,8,9,and 10 would give away the story too much. I will not read book 2. What is the point. If you already read this one you will understand. Ugg, I was so mad at this book I threw my Kindle. If you know me, you know my Kindle is

So this is a five star read for the emotional ripping out of my heart. 2 stars for the story line and characters. SO, I am giving it an overall 3 stars. It definitely made me feel something.

red_star_3_of_5-378bff103b9df21756b9733c0fd3d949

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2013, 3 Stars, Contemporary Romance, Romance, Young Adult and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

