There is No Light in Darkness (Darkness #1) by Claire Contreras

There is No Light in Darkness (Darkness #1)
by Claire Contreras


A past hidden in darkness. Her present cloaked in secrets. The future holds the only truth that cannot be escaped.

After the mysterious and violent death of her parents, Blake Brennan finds comfort with an unconventional family. As the dramatic loss of her parents continues to haunt her—and hinders her from reciprocating love that others give freely—Blake embarks on a harrowing journey in search for the truth.

Living in a constant state of fear and need for control, vivid nightmares reveal details that lead to perilous situations. The past begins to collide with the present, and Blake must decide if the truth is worth losing the ones she loves.

Can love conquer all as her past comes to light? Or will Blake realize that there is no light in darkness?

Book contains: Explicit language & sexual content.

BorderBorder

Heather’s Thoughts:

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this one. I loved the cover (yes, I know…”Don’t judge a book” and all that). I saw lots of positive reviews but this one was more of a romantic suspense or mystery novel. I don’t usually like those. Reluctantly, I decided to dive in, and once I was in, I couldn’t get out.

Blake has had a rough life. Her parents died and she has been bounced around from home to home. She doesn’t trust easily. Her life is about to change dramatically.

Cole has known Blake since she came to his home as a teen. Cole fell in love with her the moment he gazed into her eyes. The only problem is that Cole is a playboy and always has been. There is one thing that he has known from the beginning, that Blake is going to be his someday.

“Even though I have the memories from my nightmares, I’m not sure I want to experience them in the light. They’re more real in the light. I should have kept them buried in the darkness, but it’s too late for that.” Blake

Blake has recurring nightmares about her childhood. Some she knows are real and others she is not sure about. She can’t seem to make sense of them. All she knows for sure is that something bad happened and the boy in her dreams made her feel safe.

Blake begins to remember more of her past, she uncovers things that were not meant to see the light of day. Soon, she and everyone she loves is at risk.

As the past unravels, the author takes us on a ride through time. We see Blake and Cole in their pasts. The tumultuous past that they have shared and the future that they could have.

“I’m in love with you, Blake. I’ve been in love with you from the moment I saw you. I’ve been in love with you from the day I was born and possibly even before then. I belong to you. My body belongs to you. My heart belongs to you. Please let me make love to you.” -Cole

“You’re the only one that fucking matters…only you…always.” – Cole

Despite Blake’s reluctance to let him in, Cole pursues her relentlessly. Blake struggles to trust when all she has ever loved has been brutally ripped from her.

“You’re going to need a better reason this time. A real reason. And just to be clear, I don’t give a fuck what it is because I am not going to let you go. Period.” – Cole

I love Cole, there were several times that I could not believe what Blake did!

There were some pretty significant revelations in this book. And in the end, when we are all sitting so quietly enjoying a wonderful book and Bam!  A big old cliffhanger!

I am so glad I waited to read this until the second book was out. I literally dove right into book two and I am glad I could. There is a big ‘ole cliffy in this one.  I am normally not a fan of them but for some reason in this one it worked. I really enjoyed this writers style. We got to see the story from both Blake and Cole’s P.O.V. The story starts in the present and jumps around a bit going back and forth. This can be tricky to pull off well but this author did it well.

This one was so worth the read! 5 Stars!
red_star_5_of_5-bb0a37528bbb2ff1f4b732afff2bb968

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2013, 5 Stars- Best of the Best, Heather's reviews, Romance, Romantic Suspense and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

