The Redemption of Callie and Kayden (The Coincidence #2) by Jessica Sorensen

The Redemption of Callie and Kayden (The Coincidence #2)
by Jessica Sorensen

The dark secret Kayden has kept hidden for years is out. Worse, he’s facing charges for battery. The only way he stands a chance against the charges is if Callie speaks up, something he’ll never ask her to do.

Callie knows Kayden is going back to his dark place and desperately wants to save him. But saving him means admitting her secrets aloud. Callie and Kayden are stronger than they think, especially when they’re together. Together they move forward, face their demons, and finally start to heal from their traumatic pasts.

BorderBorder

Heather’s Thoughts:

So this book pretty much picks up right where book one left off. So if you haven’t read book 1, don’t read on. There will be major spoilers if you do….I warned you.

Callie has just walked in on Kayden in a pool of blood. She has doesn’t know for sure what happened but she has a pretty good idea. Kayden is whisked off to the hospital. So, here is where things get interesting. Kayden has a lot of shit to work out in his own head. He has suffered horrific abuse and he has kept it all to himself. Callie is the only one, aside from his family, who knows. When he is in the hospital they decide to put him in inpatient treatment for his cutting. Callie is devastated.

A book 2 in a series is always hard for me to review without giving too much away. So here is my gif rendition of how this book went for me.



So why did I give this emotional roller coaster three stars? Because it was so long and so depressing. There were moments of happiness, but they were filled with sex. Not that I have anything against sex, but did these people ever crack a smile? I’m not sure they did. This was the most angst ridden book I have read in a LONG time. There were a lot of fillers and a lot of repetition. And the climax, well, it was a bit anticlimactic for me.

I agree with fellow reviews on the epilogue. Why did the book end that way. Weird. Not a major cliffhanger just tying up some loose ends and setting up for a book 3.  So if you loved book one, you will want to read book two. But I really didn’t love it. It too me a LONG time to get through. I had to read a few lighthearted and happy book in between to make it though. I really forced myself to finish. I never do that. Anyway, it is getting lots of wonderful five star reviews from others, so some people must be enjoying it. Just not for me. If you read it. Let me know what you think.

3 Sad Stars for me.

red_star_3_of_5-378bff103b9df21756b9733c0fd3d949

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2013, 3 Stars, Contemporary Romance, Heather's reviews, Romance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

