Mid Life Love by Whitney Gracia Williams

Mid Life Love
by Whitney Gracia Williams

If you’d asked me what love was two years ago, I probably would’ve said, ‘It’s this amazing feeling that obsesses and possesses you; it’s what me and my husband currently have.’ If you ask me that same question today, I’ll say, ‘Please get the hell out of my face.’

Claire Gracen’s life is picture perfect. Her career as a marketing director is on the brink of being legendary, and her marriage to her high school sweetheart has never been stronger. No, wait. It has. It used to be amazing and fulfilling, but one day Claire realizes that she’s been living a lie and her best friend and husband have committed the ultimate betrayal.

Broken and depressed, Claire is in need of something new—new city, new job, new friends.

When she happens to attract the interest of the sexiest man she’s ever met, a man significantly younger than her, she immediately turns him down—only to later discover that this man is Jonathan Statham, self-made billionaire and CEO of Statham Industries. Her boss.

Jonathan Statham is unlike any man she’s met before. He’s used to getting whatever he wants—whenever he wants, and he isn’t about to take no for an answer.

Sexy, unpredictable, and charmingly clever, Mid Life Love is a story that will captivate you, entertain you, and force you to fall deeply in love with the characters.

BorderBorder

Heather’s Thoughts:

Mid Life Love is about a woman in her early forties. Claire has discovered that the love of her life, her husband cheated on her with her best friend.  She decides to start life over on the opposite coast. She heads west to be closer to her mother and she takes a job well under her expected pay range working for a tech company in advertising.

Jonathan is a man in his prime. He is the founder of a major technology company and he is an incredibly wealthy CEO. Jonathan has not had the best start in life but he is doing well for himself and could get any woman he wanted.

So when Jonathan sets his sights on Claire, she has no idea why. She sees herself as past her prime and beyond the interest of the likes of Jonathan. He begins pursuing her but she is not having it. She reminds him repeatedly why she is not the right woman for him.

Claire is extremely insecure and even though she is beautiful and intelligent.

Jonathan is the most attentive “non-boyfriend” I have ever seen. Claire decides early on that they are not in a relationship, nor will they be. To ease her fears of others discovering them together, he goes to extreme lengths.

There are many swoon worthy moments where he is the absolute best guy on the planet.  He is everything she could ever want. But she won’t let herself have him.

Despite all of this, Claire continues to push him away. She is not able to see herself as deserving. She knows that it will eventually end anyway, so she wants to save herself the heartache.

She just can’t get past the betrayal of her ex-husband and her best friend.

Jonathan’s mother enters the picture at a time when they are just starting to get closer. She is a chronic drug user and this is her thirteenth drug rehab graduation. Jonathan tries to pursue her. He does everything to make her realize that she is beautiful, intelligent and worthy of his love. He can’t stop his feelings from growing no matter how hard he tries.

Some things just can not be undone. Claire goes too far, and Jonathan may not be able to forgive her.

Things I loved about this book: 1) Jonathan was perfect. Absolutely perfect. 2) The idea that love has no age limits.  3) Both people were strong and intelligent.  4) Amazing writing.  5) HOT sex.  6) Great dialogue.

What I didn’t like: 1)Claire and her wishy washy “I am not good enough” attitude. I wanted to seriously smack her upside the head. I get why she was that way, but it was still really annoying at times. 2) And Jonathan puts up with WAY more than any man should from her.

That said, I really loved this book. It pulled me in and kept me reading late into the night. I would give this one a four star rating. It was very sweet at times and also very entertaining. There is a lot of drama so if you like the drama, this one is for you. We do get our happily ever after in the end.  I will definitely look for more from this author.

red_star_4_of_5-5405838cef8c4750ec26237ed6595e7c

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2013, 4 Stars, Contemporary Romance, Heather's reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

