Rough Canvas, by Joey Hill

5709572

When his father dies, Thomas is forced to abandon a burgeoning art career in New York. As difficult as it was to give up his lifelong dream, it’s nothing next to walking away from the man he loves. Marcus taught him to embrace who he is, a sexual submissive who responds to the touch of only one Master. But why would the sophisticated Marcus need some farm kid from the South?

Then Marcus shows up and offers him a way to continue his art career and help his family. There’s only one hitch-he asks Thomas to spend a week with him in the Berkshires. Thomas knows he should refuse. But he’s never been able to say no to his Master.

Border

Sammy Loves Books’ Review

I was blown away by the intensity of these characters. I felt a myriad of emotion along this journey of love and discovery with Marcus and Thomas. Joey Hill’s writing is BEAUTIFUL and RAW!!

Thomas' abs

Thomas, the beautiful soulfull artist, raised on a farm in North Carolina. Thomas’ outward beauty is just a reflection of his inner soul. He’s respectful, kind, loyal, and unbelievably talented. He values family and is willing to sacrifice his own needs and desires, to ensure their happiness. Thomas is unaware of how beautiful he is and feels unworthy of Marcus’ affection.

beautiful Thomas

Thomas- “You’re a masterpiece, Marcus. You never imagine going to the Louvre and getting to take something home like that. Not a kid from a small rural town that doesn’t even register on cosmic radar.”

Marcus is an enigma. He has the face of an angel and the body of a demi god. His beauty is his armor, but Thomas has cracked his shell and now owns his heart.

Marcus

Marcus- “What I have is surface. Grooming, good genetics, whatever. Whether you’ve rolled out of bed an hour ago without having had a shower for three days, or you’re wearing a designer suit, there is a deep perfect beauty to you that takes my breath away.”

Marcus in Jeans

Marcus is also the art dealer that discovered Thomas in a back alley warehouse in New York. He knew immediately that he had to have him. Marcus is a Fierce, Erotic, Sexual Dominant and on that night, Thomas became his willing submissive.

Marcus – “I don’t want any other man to fuck you. Ever. The idea of it makes me physically sick, and so furious I can’t…”He stopped, shook his head.

Thomas – ”…you’re the only man I want. Now and forever. The only man I’ll ever let inside me again.”

Long hair Marcus

This book is Raw and Raunchy. Brutal yet Beautiful in it’s intensity. Marcus has a wicked tongue and holds nothing back as he confronts Thomas’ mother and brother on their selfishness and fights for what’s his. Fights for his heart.

“Oh, for Christ’s sake. Nothing is going to make you boy straight, Elaine. I didn’t drag him into anything. But you’re absolutely right. This is a battle for his soul, and while you may think I’m Lucifer, you sure as hell aren’t God.”

The secondary characters are rich and vibrant. From the old farm couple, that explains the irony of Thomas situation. He is giving up Marcus to make his family happy, yet he is the only “family” Marcus has. Then there is Julie. She’s that special friend that we all need in life. She’s honest, supportive and tells it to you straight.

Julie- “ You fucking Dumbass. Why aren’t you going after him, hauling his butt back here? He’s the one for you, Marcus. He was it. You’ve got to get him back, okay? Because you’re only going to be half of you without him.”

Green eyes

Marcus and Thomas are one of those couples that will set up a permanent home in your heart. They not only love, but are in awe of each other. A soul wrenching, magical love that will not be denied.

“ I can imagine you and us a million ways here, Thomas. I will make my home where you are, because you are my home.”

Thomas Black & White

Read this Book! It is a part of a series but Can Be Read As A Stand Alone, which is how I read it. Even if you have never read M/M, make this one your first! You won’t regret it!

red_star_5_of_5-bb0a37528bbb2ff1f4b732afff2bb968

About Sammy Loves Books

I believe in living life to the fullest! Goodreads and Reading Haven provide a wonderful forum for discussing books. I have been exposed to amazing novels and authors I would have never known existed. Books are my favorite form of entertainment and I love writing reviews. I mostly enjoy Paranormal and Historical Romances but have recently broadened my tastes to include Dark Erotica and Gay Romance. I'll read any type of love story if a good friend recommends it to me. Recently, I discovered that I enjoy book editing. It's a hobby of mine actually. When I'm not curled up with a book you may find me swimming. I enjoy wine tasting, football, horror and action flicks. I'm tactfully honest with a wicked sense of humor. I believe in treating people with respect and love. I very rarely will give a book 5 stars unless it Wows me and just knocks me off my feet!! Occasionally, however, I will review Monster erotica books and I use a different rating system for those books. Monster erotica can not be judged against, or even compared to Romance novels. 5 Star monster erotica means it was highly erotic (made me want to be the heroine) and very well written/edited. 4 Star monster erotica is steamy but does not melt your panties. It is also well written/edited. 3 Stars means I enjoyed it, but the erotica was not very stimulating. The writing may not have flowed smoothly. 2 star monster erotica is usually very elementary in plot and world building. The sex is not erotic and the love scenes are short and non descriptive. 1 star monster erotica is torturous to read. The monster may stink, the sex is horrendous or painful, and the writing is often bad, with poor or no editing. So when you see a 5 star rating on a monster sex book, just know that scale has a Very different standard. Follow My Reviews at http://readinghaven.me
Image | This entry was posted in 5 Stars- Best of the Best, Erotica, Guy on Guy Action, Romance, Sammy's Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

