In Bed with a Highlander (McCabe Trilogy #1) by Maya Banks


In Bed with a Highlander (McCabe Trilogy #1)
by Maya Banks

Maya Banks’ beguiling new trilogy features three unforgettable brothers risking everything to save their clan and their legacy—and to surrender their hearts to love.

Ewan McCabe, the eldest, is a warrior determined to vanquish his enemy. Now, with the time ripe for battle, his men are ready and Ewan is poised to take back what is his—until a blue-eyed, raven-haired temptress is thrust upon him. Mairin may be the salvation of Ewan’s clan, but for a man who dreams only of revenge, matters of the heart are strange territory to conquer.

The illegitimate daughter of the king, Mairin possesses prized property that has made her a pawn—and wary of love. Her worst fears are realized when she is rescued from peril only to be forced into marriage by her charismatic and commanding savior, Ewan McCabe. But her attraction to her ruggedly powerful new husband makes her crave his surprisingly tender touch; her body comes alive under his sensual mastery. And as war draws near, Mairin’s strength, spirit, and passion challenge Ewan to conquer his demons—and embrace a love that means more than revenge and land.

BorderBorder

Heather’s Thoughts:

I absolutely adore Maya Banks historical fiction. She created an amazingly realistic backdrop and provides characters with depth. This one is no different. I felt like I was part of this world and got so sucked into the story that I read until almost two in the morning without even realizing it.

Mairin Stuart is a young woman in hiding. She is the bastard child of the former King of Scotland. She is set to inherit a large plot of land upon marriage. The land is highly sought after. Her hand in marriage also comes with a significant dowry. Any clan to get her would be instantly wealthy. The problem is that Mairin may be wed and aught after to produce an heir. Once that heir is born,  she is no longer useful. This is why she is in hiding. Waiting for the right moment to make her move.

Ewan McCabe is the eldest son in the McCabe clan. He is the Laird of his clans keep. Ewan has a long history with Duncan Cameron. Cameron is poised to strike and he has his sights set on overthrowing the king. Ewan has his sights set on revenge. His problem is that his clan is poor. The walls of the castle are tumbling down and his clan barely has enough food to eat.

When Mairin arrives at the McCabe keep she does so with a shroud of secrecy. She tries to keep her identity a secret. She wants to be able to go on her way and go back into hiding. Unfortunately for her, Duncan Cameron has set his sights on her and her inheritance.

This story takes us on a twisted journey through time. It is set in a time where women are to do “women’s work” and men are to do the heavy lifting and fighting. This book tackles this topic and I can’t wait to see what happens in book two and three! I also love Mairin and Ewan together. Ewan immediately sees a marriage to Mairin as a way to protect her and a way to secure his own clan. Mairin was hoping to avoid marriage for a bit longer. She wasn’t quite prepared to be bowled over by the burly Scot.

Mairin is not an easy wife. She is opinionated and often talks back. She doesn’t readily agree with her new husband and she finds herself knee deep in a conspiracy that could end very badly. There is a traitor in the keep and Mairin is in someone’s cross-hairs. In the end, Mairin has to give up her notion of what is right and do what she must in order to survive.

I absolutely love Maya Banks in this genre. I can’t say enough good things about her. She is a master at creating sexual tension. This time period lends itself nicely to the dominating man in bed. I found many parts of this book to be quite funny and lighthearted.

I adored Mairin and Ewan together. They are both extremely stubborn and bull headed. Together, they are amazing. I am starting book two right now. I can’t wait to see what Aleric McCabe gets himself into.

5 Stars!

red_star_5_of_5-bb0a37528bbb2ff1f4b732afff2bb968

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2013, 5 Stars- Best of the Best, Heather's reviews, Historical Romance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

