This Much Is True by Katherine Owen

This Much Is True
by Katherine Owen

Fate brings them together
Fame & lies keep them apart
One truth remains…

She’s become the Paly High girl with the most tragic story…
At 17, Tally Landon just wants to graduate and leave for New York to pursue ballet. Her best friend Marla convinces her to attend one last party—a college party—where she can be among strangers and evade the whisperings about her heartbreaking loss of her twin that follows her everywhere she goes. She meets Lincoln Presley, Stanford’s famous baseball wonder and has a little fun at his expense—when she lies about her age and who she really is—intent on being someone else for the night and escaping her tragic story.

His only focus is baseball, but he can’t forget the girl he saved on Valentine’s Day…
At 22, Lincoln Presley’s star is on the rise—about to finish at Stanford and expected to be taken early in Major League Baseball’s upcoming draft—his cousin’s party serves as a welcome distraction. But then, he sees the girl from Valentine’s Day that he saved from that horrific car accident and can’t quite hide his disappointment when she appears to look right through him and not remember him at all. He vows to learn her name at least before he leaves. What’s the harm in getting to know this girl? What’s the worst that can happen?

They share this incredible connection, but fate soon tests these star-crossed lovers in all kinds of ways…
And yet, despite the lies being told to protect the other, and the trappings of fame that continually separate them, and in lieu of the deception by those they’ve come to trust the most; one truth remains.

This much is true.

BorderBorder

Heather’s Thoughts:

Wow! Just wow! This book was not at all what I was expecting. It is tagged as New Adult Romance. This book is a romance but the drama is what is front and center on this stage. This is a tragic romance. I felt like I was reading a soap opera. This pair is destined to be together but life is constantly tearing them apart.

The story begins with Tally and her twin sister Holly at the cusp of their senior year in high school. Holly and her boyfriend have an on again off again relationship and she and he have just reconciled. Tally is driving her back home when tragedy strikes. The pair are struck by another car. When Tally is rescued from the wreckage by a mysterious man her life is changed forever.

Tally is a ballet dancer. She is among the elite in her school and she is poised to be a professional dancer. While Holly is the “good” twin, Tally is the trouble maker.  Holly has always had a steady boyfriend where Tally jumps from guy to guy. Tally is not into relationships. She gets her needs met and moves on. So when she meets Lincoln Presley, she decides on a quick romp, she is the love ’em and leave ’em kind of girl.

Lincoln Presley is on the verge of hitting the big time in baseball. He playing college baseball and he is poised to be picked up by the majors. Lincoln in so stranger to tragedy, his family has had its share of life altering events. His family and his manager, Kimberly, have his life planned out for him. He is gonna be a star.

Lincoln’s cousin Casey is having a party. Tally’s best friend Marla convinces her to go. Tally decides to be let go and be someone entirely different.

What she doesn’t plan on is Lincoln Presley.

Lincoln recognizes Tally but she has no clue who he is. He is immediately drawn to her. She lies about her age, her name and many other things. Tally is planning on this being a one time thing. She can’t help but be drawn to Lincoln and she ends up breaking several of her own “hook up” rules.

This is where things get interesting, or complicated, depending on how you look at it. Tally is now in New York pursuing her ballet career. Lincoln has been picked up by a major league team on the opposite coast. The lies that Tally has told are catching up with her.

Tally can’t stop thinking about Lincoln, and Lincoln can’t stop thinking about Tally. But they are star crossed lovers destined to be forever torn apart. They make decision after decision that pushes them further apart.

How can one couple endure so much heartache and pain and still survive?

So many times I just wanted to strangle someone.

I was on pins and freaking needles!

I really could not believe what I was reading. What on earth were they thinking!!

I can’t tell you too much without giving away too much. Lets just say that this book will stick with me for a while. I felt like I was reading a Shakespearean tragedy.

Favorite Quotes:
“I stand still for a long time, holding the note, and let it all sink in. Her leaving is almost palpable like a gale-force wind that’s rolled into my life in the span of a single evening and left behind all this incalculable destruction, both inside and out. Yes, the tempest has passed, but the air around me feels different. I can hardly breathe. Nothing is the same without her. As the lone survivor of her particular storm, I begin to wonder just exactly what I’m supposed to do now.”

“The ending is coming. I can feel it. I don’t know if I can take it this time. But then again, I say that every time and yet, every time I take it. And, I come back to her again for more. I will take whatever time I can get with her. I will do that for a lifetime. I will. I know that much about myself. She is my water. I can never get enough of her, and it appears that I will die trying to love her, to keep her, to hold her with me, even though our time together seems to evaporate so swiftly. It slips through our fingers so damn fast that we don’t even have time to savor it when we’re together.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This book appears to be one of those books where you either love it or you hate it. I think perhaps, some people are going into this expecting a simple and sweet love story. If that is what you are looking for…this book is not for you.  This is a punch you in the face and leave you hanging tragedy. (You do eventually get your HEA, but it is not what you would expect)

The writing was amazing. We get to see Tally and Lincoln’s perspectives with a dual point of view in the writing. The characters are frustrating and annoying but real and you can’t help but fall in love with their craziness. The secondary characters are well done as well. This book eds up spanning about four years in time. We see a LOT happen in four years. Every-time something would happen I would put my kindle down and tell my husband, who could care less what was going on. I had to tell someone… this story was just mind blowing!

So if you love a good angst filled dramatic romance…this one is amazing. I give it five stars.

red_star_5_of_5-bb0a37528bbb2ff1f4b732afff2bb968

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2013, 5 Stars- Best of the Best, Contemporary Romance, Heather's reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This Much Is True by Katherine Owen

  1. Anyone who does GIFs in their review must hear from the author. : ) Thanks for reading my book and “getting” my work. Love the quotes you picked out. These are two of my favorite passages from the awesomeness that is Lincoln Presley. Thanks for taking the time to do such a thoughtful review of THIS MUCH IS TRUE.

    Best,
    Katherine Owen

  2. Pingback: GIVEAWAY + REVIEW {This Much Is True} by Katherine Owen {41¢} | Fifty5Cents Book Blog

Leave a Reply

