To Have (The Dumont Diaries #1-4) by Alessandra Torre

To Have (The Dumont Diaries #1)
by Alessandra Torre

The Dumont Diaries (four books in the series)

The lights have become a blanket of sorts, wrapping me in their warmth, shielding me from whatever is out there to hurt me. They block the faces that stare, the eyes that follow my movement. I used to squint when they came on, would duck my head to avoid the glare. But ducking takes me under the glare and reveals the world behind the lights, and that is a world I don’t want to see.

When salvation comes in the form of six feet of drop-dead-gorgeous, complete with a limo and a thick wad of cash, my stilettos run happily out the door to freedom. They say that money doesn’t buy happiness. But it does buy escape. Happiness is an overrated fairytale.

BorderBorder

Heather’s Thoughts:
This is a four book Novella series that I will be reviewing as one. Each book is between 50-60 pages of scorching hot goodness. If you are a fan of erotica and erotic romance with a hot Alpha male, then you will enjoy this short series.

Candy is a young woman whose life has gone all wrong. Nothing is going according to plan. She has been out of school for months and has been unable to land a job as a party planner. She has been forced to resort to working as a dancer in a gentleman’s club. She lives in a room and her landlord is a bit of a creeper. Candy is looking for a break but is realistic enough to know that this may be it for her.

Nathan Dumont is an enigmatic heir to a shipping fortune. He has specific tastes in women and Candy fits the bill perfectly. He finds her dancing and decides to take things a step further. Candy jumps at the chance to perform for this man and earn some extra money.

When Nathan offers her a place to live and his hand in marriage in a business arrangement, Candy is dumbfounded. This could be her chance out of the life that she is destined to lead. But he has stipulations.
“I will not love you. I will have no use for you other than sex and photo ops. That is something you might want to consider when making your decision.”

Sex with Nathan is off the charts. His need is insatiable.
“Get up and get on the bed in the Master. I’m going to fuck the hell out of you.”

“The best sex of my life has officially wiped me out, every muscle a relaxed mess of orgasmy uselessness. He breathes hard, staring at me, then wipes his mouth and hops off the bed, walking bare assed out of the room.”

While the life she leads is “perfect”, life in her glass house is lonely. Candy begins to wonder what the motives were behind her acquisition. Soon, she has no idea where to turn or who to trust. Things get highly complicated as she finds herself in way over her head.

“Security is a strange thing, a myth that the brain allows in exchange for a brief moment of peace.”

This was a fast paced series that kept me guessing. Nathan is enigmatic and secretive. His motives are not clear. His security team is not what they seem. Nathan was clear to Candy from the start, no love. He has a need for her, she will fulfill a role and nothing more. She believes she can play the part, but she didn’t anticipate falling for Nathan.

I have rated this series as a whole. I would give them a solid four stars. The series takes on a mystery and suspense feel to it with highly erotic scenes between out main characters. This is not a touchy feely series but for me, it hit the spot. 🙂

4 Solid Stars

red_star_4_of_5-5405838cef8c4750ec26237ed6595e7c

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2013, 4 Stars, Erotica, Heather's reviews, Romantic Suspense and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

