Take This Regret (Take This Regret #1) by A.L. Jackson, Amy Lichtenhan

Take This Regret

(Take This Regret #1)
by A.L. Jackson, Amy Lichtenhan
There are some mistakes we make that we will regret for the rest of our lives. For Christian Davison, it was the day he betrayed Elizabeth Ayers. For five years, Christian has regretted the day he walked away from his family and will do anything to win them back. Can Elizabeth forgive someone who has committed the unforgiveable? Or are there some wounds that go so deep they can never heal?

Published April 5th 2012 by Sapphire Star Publishing

BorderBorder

Heather’s Thoughts:

This was one of those books that will stay with me for a LONG time. I had no idea what I was getting into when I read this and thank goodness I had book two already at the time I started book one! This is a two book series. Although you don’t have to read book two, I would recommend it. There wasn’t a cliffhanger, you just really want to know what happens next.

When the book starts, Elizabeth is young, in college, and in love. She has met a guy and although he is not who she thought she would end up with, for her, he is perfect. She is getting ready to finish up college and go to law school. She dreams of helping kids and making a difference in the world.


Christian comes from money. His father is a hard nosed business man. He is grooming Christian to take over his firm one day. Christian is a frat boy with dreams of making big money some day. While he loves Elizabeth, he has a plan and a career that he has to think about.


They were happy, they were in love, until one day, one minute, one decision, changed everything.

Warning: Spoilers ahead…

Elizabeth finds out she is pregnant. Christian does not take this news well. He forces her to choose. Him or this child. He is set to have a great career, and a child would mess everything up. Elizabeth is devastated. She loves Christian but she can’t choose to end this pregnancy. So, she does what she feels she has to do. She calls on her friends and she gets through it, without Christian.

Flash forward five years. Elizabeth and her daughter are living a good life. Lizzy is a bright young girl and she is the spitting image of her father. Christian is opening up a new office to his father’s firm. The office puts him a short seven miles from Elizabeth. Neither one of them is aware until one fateful day at the grocery store when Christian comes face to face with the little girl that he turned his back on all those years ago.

We get to see the perspective of Elizabeth as she struggles to find a place in their lives for a man who abandoned her. He wants in. He wants his daughter.

“What do you want, Christian?”
What did I want? To make her smile, to wipe away her tears, to hold her. To be a father, a real father, not one in title, but on who’d earned that right. I wanted to stay.
“I want my family,” I forced through the lump in my throat.”

He is determined to make Elizabeth see why he made those choices and to make amends. Elizabeth wants to hate him, but she can’t. She can’t let go of the love that was ripped away all of those years ago. She wants the happy ending but doesn’t know how that can be possible after everything they have been through.

There were so many times I wanted to HATE Christian for taking the easy way out.

But when I got to see what he was going through, I started to feel bad for him.

“She was mine, had always been, and I’d always been hers. Despite what I’d done, the wounds I’d inflicted, she had always been mine…. our hearts had been tied, our bond one that neither of us could ever escape.”

Then Elizabeth would start to act irrational and I wanted to smack her!

But dang it! I understood where she was coming from too.

This was an emotional and amazing read.

This was a heartbreaking story that leaves you feeling like it could never end well. I am here to say that you do get your happy ending. It is just like life, it is messy and it is a journey but eventually, what is meant to be will be.

5+ stars. I loved this one. It was hard to read but it was SO worth it. There is so much heartbreak and pain. There is also an amazing story of the triumph of love. So gets your Kleenex out and get ready for an emotional ride. It is definitely worth it.

red_star_5_of_5-bb0a37528bbb2ff1f4b732afff2bb968

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2013, 5 Stars- Best of the Best, Contemporary Romance, Heather's reviews, New Adult, Romance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

