Definitely, Maybe in Love by Ophelia London

Amazon $0.99

Definitely, Maybe in Love
by Ophelia London

Spring Honeycutt wants two things: to ace her sustainable living thesis and to save the environment. Both seem hopelessly unobtainable until her college professor suggests that with a new angle, her paper could be published. Spring swears she’ll do whatever it takes to ensure that happens.

“Whatever it takes,” however, means forming a partnership with the very hot, very privileged, very conceited Henry Knightly.

Henry is Spring’s only hope at publication, but he’s also the über-rich son of a land developer and cash-strapped Spring’s polar opposite. Too bad she can’t help being attracted to the way he pushes her buttons, both politically and physically. As they work on her thesis, Spring finds there’s more to Henry than his old money and argyle sweaters…but can she drop the loud-and-proud act long enough to let him in? Suddenly, choosing between what she wants and what she needs puts Spring at odds with everything she believes in.

Definitely, Maybe in Love is a modern take on Pride and Prejudice that proves true love is worth risking a little pride.

Small BorderSmall Border

Heather’s Thoughts:
Ok, I have a secret to tell you, please don’t judge me too harshly. I never read Pride & Prejudice, nor have I ever watched the movie versions….I know! I am a freak of nature and not fit to be considered an avid reader. Having said that, I feel a little guilty reviewing this modern take on the classic Jane Austin novel. I am going to give it a shot though.

Spring is a young woman who is struggling to find her place in the world. She is a cynic and a little rough around the edges. She is working on her degree and she is determined to change the world and make it a better place. She attends rallies and became a vegetarian in an effort to “fit the part” and be noticed in her program. She was doing really well until her adviser told her she should consider the economic impact of conservation and environmentalism. Spring is flabbergasted.  She needs to find someone who is an economics major to help her make her thesis airtight.

Henry is a law student who comes from old money. His family owns a lot of land and they also donated a building that Spring protested against on campus. So when Henry moves in next door, he has no idea what he is in for. Spring doesn’t take anything sitting down. She is in his face and he has no idea what to make of this bohemian beauty who is standing up to him. She is his opposite in every way.

Spring discovers that Henry has something she needs desperately. He has studied economics and he is getting his law degree. His family represents the opposition to her thesis. She needs him to make her paper better. They start working together and the tension is high. They argue almost constantly. Spring is harsh in her judgement of him. Henry pushes almost every one of her buttons. So when they finally get close and he leaves, she is shocked. She convinces herself that she is better off without him.

They find each other again and despite the undeniable chemistry, the timing is never right.

Secrets and betrayals are abound. Spring feels torn and alone without Henry even if she knows they aren’t right for each other. How could they be, he is so different from her.

Spring has to figure out who she is and what she wants out of this life. She can no longer play the broken-hearted victim. She has to make her own future.

Call it fate, but when something is meant to be, it is meant to be.

“Spring,” he whispered, looking into my eyes, making my knees shake. “Your all I’ve thought about for months.”

In the end, we get our happily ever after, but it is a long and winding road to get to that happy place. I suppose that is why it tastes so much sweeter in the end.

“Opposition makes for good debates, Spring,” he whispered, leaning down to nuzzle the side of my neck. “And I plan on having good debates with you for at least the next ten presidential elections.”

This story is told from Spring’s point of view. We get to ride along with her as she deals with friends, family and love. She is young and in the process of finding herself. She has a chip on her shoulder and something to prove. But underneath the tough hippie chick, is a sensitive soul. Henry sees this and that is what makes this story so sweet. Henry stays by her side when she is being absolutely ridiculous.

Henry is not perfect though. He has his share of bombshells. There are miscommunications and secrets that cause quite a bit of drama. Spring is not an overly emotional woman but she finds herself unable to deny the intensity of her emotions when it comes to Henry.

I adored Henry’s argyle wearing, straight-laced, lawyer persona. I loved it because through it all, he was able to recognize something in Spring that was missing from himself. She made him better. And in the end he made her better as well. They both came together to complete one another. Yes, it’s sappy, but it worked.

The only thing I found distracting were all of the secondary characters and side stories. It felt like too much at times. I also really wish we had some of Henry’s point of view, I wanted to know what was going on in that infuriating man’s head! Having said that, I still give this a rock solid four stars. I would definitely recommend this book to fans of the New Adult genre as well as fans of Contemporary Romance.

red_star_4_of_5-5405838cef8c4750ec26237ed6595e7c

***A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.***

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2013, 4 Stars, Contemporary Romance, Heather's reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Definitely, Maybe in Love by Ophelia London

  1. Pingback: Definitely, Maybe in Love – Ophelia London | Penny Dreadful Books and Reviews

Leave a Reply

