More Than This (More #1) by Jay McLean

More Than This (More #1)
by Jay McLean

*Mikayla*
In one night my fairytale ended. Or it may have begun. This is my story of friendship and love, heartbreak and desire, and the strength to show weakness.

*Jake*
One night I met a girl. A sad and broken girl, but one more beautiful than any other. She laughed through her sadness, while I loved through her heartbreak.

*This is our story of a maybe ever after.*

He was right. It made no difference whether it was 6 months or 6 years.
I couldn’t undo what had been done. I couldn’t change the future.
I couldn’t even predict it.
It was one night.
One night when everything changed.
It was so much more than just the betrayal.
It was the Tragedy.
The Deaths.
The Murders.
But it was also that feeling.
The feeling of falling.

Small BorderSmall Border

Heather’s Thoughts:

This is going to be a short and sweet review. I had no idea what I was going to get after reading this book blurb. Deaths? Murders? Is it a mystery, a romance, horror? Well, it is definitely a romance like none other than I have ever read. This is a story about two people who find each other at one of the most incredibly difficult moments in life. They bond and fall in love through the tragedy and heartbreak and emerge on the other side a strong and united couple.

Mikayla is a young girl on her way to the prom. She has just finished her senior year and is going out with a group of friends and her long time boyfriend. But at the restaurant, everything she thought she knew about him is thrown up in the air. Jake is witness to the drama. He also happens to be there and with a group of his friends. When things go bad for Mikayla, he offers to sweep her away.

Jake is kind of a big deal. He is a baseball player with a burgeoning career. When he sees a crying Mikayla, he knows he has to step up and help her out. They go out and have a good time. On her way back home Mikayla discovers that her entire family has been struck by tragedy.No one knows why. The only thing Mikayla knows is that she was lucky that she wasn’t with her family that night.

She has nowhere to go. No other family to take her in and in the instant that she discovered that her world was turning upside down, her mind connected Jake to her. He and his family became her life raft.

There is no gentle easing into this story. It hits you hard and fast. Mikayla is left dealing with the aftermath of some enormous tragedies and Jake is there for her every step of the way.

Jake knows that he needs to be careful. Mikayla is incredibly fragile right now. All he wants to do is shelter and protect her. He has some cave man tendencies and he is definitely an alpha male.

“He’s not the heart and flowers kind of guy, but he’s the heart and soul kind, and fuck if every girl would rather that than flowers.”

She is fraught with bouts of sadness. In her world there is nothing left. All she has is Jake.

Their relationship develops into something more than either one of them could ever have expected.

“God Jake, I so much more than a lot like you.”

“Mikayla, I passed that stage a long, long time ago.”

“Because if I kiss you, then I’ll want to taste you, and if I taste you then I’ll need to fuck you. And if I fuck you, that means your mine. And when I make you mine, I want it to be in OUR bed. Not in a hotel room…Is that okay?”

Jake is to die for. He is one of my favorite book boyfriends. He is just amazing. He is adorable, sexy, smart and loyal. He is one of the good ones. I really liked Mikayla too. She was going through so much in this book and despite all of it, she came out on top. She had to grow up fast and Jake was there with her on her whirlwind journey.

There are deaths in this book, there is betrayal and cheating, but in the end, there is a HUGE helping of happily ever after. This one got really high ratings on GoodReads. I would rate it somewhere between four and five stars for me. There is heavy romance with some seriously swoon worthy moments,  not as much steam as I usually prefer, but hey, they’re young. This is more of a Young Adult/New Adult book. If you like those genre’s then this would be a good solid choice for you.

Solid 4+ Stars

red_star_4_of_5-5405838cef8c4750ec26237ed6595e7c

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2013, 5 Stars- Best of the Best, Contemporary Romance, Heather's reviews, New Adult and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

