Torn from You (Tear Asunder #1) by Nashoda Rose

Torn from You (Tear Asunder #1)
by Nashoda Rose

Love is like an avalanche. It hits hard, fast and without mercy.

At least it did for me when Sculpt, the lead singer of the rock band Tear Asunder knocked me off my feet. Literally, because he’s also a fighter, illegally of course, and he taught me how to fight. He also taught me how to love and I fell hard for him. I mean the guy could do sweet, when he wasn’t doing bossy, and I like sweet.

Then it all shattered.

Kidnapped.
Starved.
Beaten.
I was alone and fighting to survive.
When I heard Sculpt’s voice, I thought he was there to save me.

I was wrong.

(It is recommended to read “With You” the novella first, however not necessary).

*Warning: This book contains some disturbing situations, strong language and sexual content. Over 18 years.

This is a love story with some dark elements. Dark contemporary romance. No cliffhanger and next in the Tear Asunder series is Ream’s story (the band’s lead guitarist).

BorderBorder

Heather’s Thoughts:

I did not read the prequel novella for this and I didn’t feel like I was missing anything. This is a complete story with a complete ending and I believe the series will be different main characters in each book.

Emily is a young lady who has found her first true love. She has been alone for a long time, and now she knows what it feels like to be wanted and needed. The man she has fallen for is older and he is a fighter. She had sought him out to help her learn to fight when she was recovering from an attack.

Logan  “Sculpt”, is a young man with a dark and dangerous past. He thought he had left it all behind. He was fighting for money one night and in walks Emily. She was quiet and fragile, but had the heart of a fighter. He took her under his wing and taught her how to defend herself.

But one day, everything changed. Logan became someone who Emily didn’t recognize. She was abducted and forced into a world of human trafficking. She witness and experienced horrors that she never imagined were real.

At this point in the book, I said WTF just happened!

Emily’s captor forces her to submit. She must learn to survive or be sold.

Logan struggles to come to terms with what has happened. Emily may be lost to him forever…

Logan does everything he can to save Emily, but his past haunts him and he is not exactly what he seems.

Emily will be haunted for the rest of her life by what has happened to her.

The second half of this books is decidedly different from the first half. Without giving too much away, it is the future and Emily has been rescued. She is starting her life over. She is desperate to move on and get over the man who Logan turned out to be. She can’t help but recall the nights of passion that they shared and she realizes that she may never be free from him.

When Logan saunters back into her life, she is angry and hurt.

Logan was my avalanche.
He crashed into my life again and wiped everything bad between us away, until I was naked with nothing except acceptance for what happened to us. It wasn’t me anymore; it was us.

This book is a wild ride and it is exceptionally hard to review without giving too much away. If you liked Captive in the Dark, you will probably like Torn From You. This book packs a lot in. In some ways that was good and in some ways not. There were times when it felt like it was too much, but it was good enough that I finished it in one setting.

Logan is a fighter, who has a history. He is the lead singer in a band. Oh, and he is a dominant. The only thing he is not…rich. But give him time, his band is taking off. Emily is the young naive girl who gives herself to the bad boy. She doesn’t ask for much. She just wants to help abused horses.

I liked this one enough to give it four stars and I think a lot of people will love it. I just felt like it was a bit over the top. Having said that, I couldn’t put it down. It was very enjoyable and entertaining.

red_star_4_of_5-5405838cef8c4750ec26237ed6595e7c

**This book was provided by the Publisher via NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. **

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2013, 4 Stars, BDSM, Contemporary Romance, Dark Erotica, Heather's reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

