Knight (Impossible Novels Series #2) by Julia Sykes

Knight (Impossible Novels Series #2)
by Julia Sykes

He wants to know my name. I have to answer, have to obey, but I can’t. I am plaything, a possession. And slaves don’t have names. Why is he tormenting me like this? I need to please him so that I can get my reward. God, I need a fix. I’ll die if I don’t get one.

Lydia Chase has been abducted and broken. Her only escape from the pain is the sweet high of the heroin that her sadistic Master gives her as a reward in order to control her. She is found by FBI agent Smith James, and he is determined to help her heal. But she becomes dangerously dependent on him, and his brand of rescue might just leave her more broken than ever. How can she ever become whole again if she can’t learn to let him go and take control of her own life? Does she have a hope of finding freedom when Smith refuses to release her heart? Or is this new form of captivity just what she needs to survive?

WARNING: Given the nature of this story, this book contains graphic violence and references to sexual assault, which some readers may find upsetting. It also contains sizzling scenes of (consensual) BDSM!

NOTE: Knight is part of the Impossible series, but it can be read as a standalone story without spoiling the other books.

BorderBorder

Heather’s Thoughts:

This book starts out dark. And by dark, I mean VERY dark. (Woohoo!) Lydia has been reduced to being a slave and a junkie who can no longer do anything of her own free will.

She was abducted and held in the hands of a masochistic abuser.

He tormented her and eventually, he broke her.

So when she is found in a club by Special Agent Smith Jones, she has no idea who she is or what to do. She is a slave to her next fix.

Her vulnerability and her situation call to the Dominant in Smith. He knows that she will never survive on her own. Only he knows how to bring her back.

But when Smith takes Lydia under his wing, he is crossing all kinds of boundaries.

Smith knows that what he is doing is wrong and eventually, Lydia starts to remember. Her past can’t stay buried forever and when it comes back, there are consequences.


Can Smith be the man Lydia needs? Can she let go of her past and be the woman she always wanted to be? Will they survive long enough to find out?

I liked this book a lot. It was interesting and appealed to my darker fantasy side. I loved how Smith took Lydia in and guided her. I thought the way the story was told was perfect. The dialogue was good, the build up was good. The sex was amazing.Smith was an amazingly hot alpha male with just the right amount of sensitivity.

My only issue, and it was a fairly significant one, was the way she responded to her trauma. She was significantly brutalized for a long time. She suffers repeated trauma and danger even after her rescue, and yet she is able to make life altering decisions with a clear head? (If you read it you will better understand my point here.) Maybe I am in the minority here, but it felt fast and that made it less real for me.

This is a book an it doesn’t have to mimic real life, it’s fiction. So the author can do whatever the heck she wants. 90% of it I loved, but the part I didn’t was fairly significant for me. So I am knocking off 1 star. Overall it was a good read if you like the darker stuff, I would recommend it.

4 Dark and Dominant Stars

red_star_4_of_5-5405838cef8c4750ec26237ed6595e7c

***A copy of this book was kindly provided by the author in exchange for a fair and honest review.***

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2013, 4 Stars, BDSM, Contemporary Romance, Dark Erotica and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

