Wrecked (Wrecked #1) by Priscilla West

Wrecked (Wrecked #1)
by Priscilla West
“There would be no happy ending for us. He was too damaged. I was too broken.”

Two years ago, Lorrie’s mother was murdered. But that wasn’t the end of it. Reeling from the tragedy, Lorrie’s father spiraled into alcohol, depression, and finally suicide.

The two most important people in Lorrie’s life are both gone but she’s still alive.

Trying to recover from the tragedy, Lorrie returns to campus, ready to pick up the pieces of her life. All Lorrie wants is to get back to “normal.”

Then she meets Hunter. The man, the legend, “the Hammer.”

Hunter is a cage fighter who takes on every fight like he’s got nothing to lose. His life is a tangled mess of girls, booze, and fist fights. And while it may seem like he’s got a devil-may-care attitude, he’s fighting a private cage-match with a monster he can’t defeat.

Lorrie knows that Hunter is the exact type of guy she should stay away from, especially in her fragile state, but Hunter has other ideas.

As Hunter and Lorrie grow closer together, will they be able to overcome their pain and heal each other? Or will they both end up wrecked?

BorderBorder

Heather’s Thoughts:

I have really struggled with how to rate this one. There are some people who read and loved this book. There are others who really didn’t like it. I guess I fall somewhere in the middle. I would give this one a solid three stars.

Lorrie is a small town girl going to a small town college. She has had a horrific year and things just seem to keep getting worse. She has suffered a lot of loss and she is the center of the gossip machine at school.

Hunter is a tough guy MMA fighter who is in his senior year of college. He is smart, fun, handsome and protective. He is covered in tattoos and oozes the bad boy vibe. What more could anyone ask for?

So one fateful day, Lorrie is sitting by the local pond when she is startled. She falls headlong into a freezing cold pond only to be rescued by an infuriatingly handsome man…Hunter.

Hunter finds himself drawn to Lorrie, but she has had enough drama in her life. She is not interested in dating and pushes him away at every turn. But Hunter won’t be dissuaded.

The gossip at this “College” is unbelievable. As soon as Lorrie starts hanging out with Hunter, she starts to hear all about his conquests. He is a ladies man to the core. This reinforces her belief that she should NOT get involved with him.

Lorrie is a very emotional young lady.

She thinks she knows everything there is to know about Hunter and she judges him.

But soon, even she can not resist the lure of Hunter. When they finally succumb, it is hot and they don’t emerge for days.

But even then, she can not stop judging him. She becomes whiny and insecure.

Lorrie acts rather rashly and fails to communicate with Hunter at virtually every turn.

She is very immature for her age, and frankly I have never heard so much gossip in a book. The timing has to be incredible to hear someone talk about you. Even on a small college campus the odds are slim. But somehow, she hears the gossip at every turn. And of course, she believes everything she hears.

YES!!! It is all your fault Lorrie! I wanted to smack her so hard. Yes, she went through a lot and yes it was horrible, but GROW UP!

The redeeming factor in this book was Hunter. He was the absolute best. He was just the right amount of alpha male without being over the top. He was clear and honest with his intentions and he stayed true to himself. Lorrie was just all over the place. I really did not like her at all. That made parts of this book excruciating. It is told from both points of view so we got into both of their heads.

Hunter has a lot going on and I hope to find out what happens with him in the end. There was a bit of a cliffhanger at the end. Will I read the next book? Yes, I will. I will put up with Lorrie because Hunter is so worth it in the end.  The writing was good, the dialogue was good for the most part. Some minor problems there for me. The main story line was well done and it was paced well. So overall, a three star read for me. I did like it, but I wish Lorrie had been more real and a little more mature. I could have loved this one with a few adjustments.

red_star_3_of_5-378bff103b9df21756b9733c0fd3d949

****A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. ***

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 3 Stars, Contemporary Romance, Heather's reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

