Relentless (Shattered Hearts #1) by Cassia Leo

Relentless (Shattered Hearts #1)
by Cassia Leo

“Sometimes letting someone go is the ultimate act of love.”

Claire Nixon is a college student with a past full of secrets and heartbreak.

At seven years old, the death of her mother by drug overdose destroys her faith in humanity and herself as she is tossed from one foster home to another. Feeling unwanted and disposable, she fights to keep herself safe in the system. Until, at the age of fifteen, she is saved by her first love, and soon-to-be rock star, Chris Knight and his mother, who quickly becomes the mother she always wanted.

When Claire encourages Chris to leave town to pursue his dreams of musical stardom, both Claire and Chris don’t realize this will be the biggest mistake of their lives.

One year after Chris leaves on tour, Claire has carved out a new life for herself in a new city far away from the life she left behind with Chris. On a fateful morning, she meets sexy surfer Adam Parker.

To Claire, Adam is just another flirty customer at the cafe, until a chance encounter and seemingly innocent comment spurs a bet between them. The bet is simple: If Adam can get Claire to reveal the secret that made her drop out of college and leave her life behind, she has to re-enroll. If he doesn’t succeed, she gets to keep her secret and he has to stop stalking her at the cafe.

Claire thinks she has this one in the bag. She’s perfected the art of forgetting her past. But she isn’t prepared for Adam’s relentless pursuit or for him to share his own secrets. And she’s definitely not prepared for the love of her life, Chris Knight, and her secret, to come banging down her door one year later.

New Adult Contemporary Romance: Due to strong language, drug use, and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

BorderBorder

Heather’s Thoughts:

Claire is a young girl who dropped out of college. She has never shared her reason for dropping out with anyone, aside from her best friend. She meets a sexy surfer and she ends up making a bet with him.

Adam meets Claire and is instantly drawn to her. He wants to know more about her. He has no idea what secrets she is hiding but he wants to get to know her and he is willing to put in the time to earn her trust.

“The relentless pull of love is a thousand times harder to fight than the tides. If you’re lucky, you’ll make it out before you drown. If you’re even luckier, you’re pulled under just long enough to wash away the sorrow. If you’re really lucky, like me, you resurface just in time to find the one you love floating right beside you.”

Claire has been burned in the past. She doesn’t want to get involved again.

Claire decides that it is time to move on. She has made a mess of her life so far and she just wants a little happiness.

When she least expects it, her past comes waltzing back into town.

Chris. The one who got away. Her soul mate and her high school sweetheart. Chris has been on the road pursuing his music career. He has become a household name. What Chris hasn’t been able to do, is get over Claire.

“Are you okay?” he whispers as he kisses my neck and I nod hastily. “Good ‘cause I’m about to wreck you.”

Now Claire must decide between Adam and Chris. Her soul mate, or the man who showed her how to feel again. Claire discovers that someone else is in on her secret. And the reason for Claire leaving comes out in a very big way.

When it does…there just aren’t words.

“I guess that’s the way secrets are. They’re only heavy when you’re holding them. As soon as you let go, the significance of keeping those secrets hidden blows away and everything falls into place.”

They must deal with the fallout of a decision made almost a year ago. It can’t be undone, it can’t be forgotten, but can it be forgiven? More importantly can Claire forgive herself?

Claire is left reeling. She has no idea what she is going to do.

“How can you still love me after everything I’ve done to you?” “How can I not? You’re the fucking love of my life. You don’t stop loving someone just because they’ve hurt you. Yes, what you did hurt me, but I gain nothing if I stay angry with you. But I might gain everything by forgiving you. You’re my everything. I just want you back.”

Do not go into this book thinking you are going to read just the first one. You might as well just go ahead and get all three. This is an angst filled romance that doesn’t have a neat and tidy ending. It leaves you hanging a bit at the end but it does pick up in book two where it left off in book one.

This is an angsty romance with a moderate steam factor. I would definitely say it put this author on my instant “to read” list. There are a million quotable moments in the series. Cassia Leo has a poet’s style and a romantics heart. She is brilliant. I am rating the entire series here. I will not do a written review of the whole thing because if I do, I will give too much away.

If you love some angst and a well written book, this was a huge winner for me.

red_star_5_of_5-bb0a37528bbb2ff1f4b732afff2bb968

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2013, 5 Stars- Best of the Best, Contemporary Romance, Heather's reviews, New Adult and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

