The Destiny of Violet & Luke (The Coincidence #3) by Jessica Sorensen

The Destiny of Violet & Luke (The Coincidence #3)
by Jessica Sorensen

Luke Price’s life has always been about order, control, and acting tough on the outside. For Luke, meaningless relationships are a distraction-a way to tune out the twisted memories of his childhood. He desperately wishes he could forget his past, but it haunts him no matter what he does.

Violet Hayes has had a rough life. When she was young, she was left with no family and the memory of her parents’ unsolved murders. She grew up in foster homes, living with irresponsible parents, drugs, and neglect, and trying to fight the painful memories of the night her parents were taken from her. But it’s hard to forget when she never got closure-and she can’t stop dreaming about what happened that tragic night. To make it through life, she keeps her distance from everyone and never allows herself to feel anything.

Then Violet meets Luke. The two clash instantly, yet they can’t seem to stay away from each other. Although they fight it, they both start to open up and feel things they’ve never felt before. They discover just how similar they are. But they also discover something else: The past always catches up with you . . .

BorderBorder

Heather’s Thoughts:

Both Violet and Luke have more baggage than Louis Vuitton.

Violet has been shipped from foster home to foster home never finding a solid place to land. Luke has struggled to deal with his drug addicted mother who suffers from paranoia.

They both have decided that relationships are not in the cards for them. Letting people get close can only lead to getting hurt.

Both feel incredibly broken in their own way.

When they find each other, Luke discovers that he is curious about a girl for the first time in his life. Violet pushes him away at every turn. But eventually she finds herself stuck in a situation where she is forced to be in close proximity to him for the entire summer.

Eventually violet finds her carefully erected walls come tumbling down.

Both struggle to stay a safe distance and not get involved.

And then everything goes wrong.

This book takes a very terrible turn and… BAM, it ends!!!

There is a significant plot twist at the end that had my head spinning. And now…I have to wait. Why do authors do this to me?

The secondary characters in this book were the primary characters in beginning of this series. Violet is the room-mate of Callie and Luke is the friend of Kaden. They all go to college together. Violet makes some seriously questionable choices but despite her immaturity, I would still call this one a New Adult book. There was some sexual exploration but this one was pretty tame as far as steaminess.

Violet has done a good job of hiding her past and her secrets for years. She finds solace in the adrenaline rush she gets while seeking danger. Violet is sexually inexperienced. Luke is a man-whore and what I would consider either an alcoholic or well on his way to becoming one. There are some definite standard formulas going on here but not totally predictable.

I am giving this one four stars because there wasn’t a whole lot of happy in this book. It went back and forth between two tortured souls in their never-ending search to end their pain. I really got into it and had a hard time putting it down, but I did want to see some kind of resolution. Something, anything! I would still highly recommend this one to all of my friends who enjoy a good angst-filled drama.

red_star_4_of_5-5405838cef8c4750ec26237ed6595e7c

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2014, 4 Stars, Heather's reviews, New Adult, What I'm Reading Now and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

