Remember When (Remember Trilogy #1) by T. Torrest

Remember When (Remember Trilogy #1)
by T. Torrest

Years before Trip Wiley could be seen on movie screens all over the world, he could be seen sitting in the desk behind me in my high school English class.

This was back in 1990, and I cite the year only to avoid dumbfounding you when references to big hair or stretch pants are mentioned. Although, come to think of it, I am from New Jersey, which may serve as explanation enough. We were teenagers then, way back in a time before anyone could even dream he’d turn into the Hollywood commodity that he is today.

In case you live under a rock and don’t know who Trip Wiley is, just know that these days, he’s the actor found at the top of every casting director’s wish list. He’s incredibly talented and insanely gorgeous, the combination of which has made him very rich, very famous and very desirable.

And not just to casting directors, either.

I can’t confirm any of the gossip from his early years out in Tinseltown, but based on what I knew of his life before he was famous, I can tell you that the idea of Girls-Throwing-Themselves-At-Trip is not a new concept.

I should know. I was one of them.

And my life hasn’t been the same since.

**Remember When is the first book in an NA romantic comedy trilogy, but there is NO CLIFFHANGER. It is intended for mature teen readers and immature adult ones due to some high school sex scenes, underage drinking, questionable language and 1980s flashbacks.**

BorderSmall BorderBorder

Heather’s Thoughts:


First off, this book is outside of my typical genre. Going in, I had no idea that this would lean so heavily toward the YA genre. I saw the tag for New Adult and I was in. Yes, I know there is a big warning under the book description, but I didn’t read it! My bad. Anyway, despite the YA feel of this book and the very slow beginning, by the end…I was hooked. If things pick up in book 2, I will be a happy camper. So this one only squeezed out four stars for me.

Layla is a senior at a Catholic school in New Jersey. She is popular and well liked. She is all set to finish out school when in walks the new guy, Trip. He is absolutely stunning and immediately throws her off-balance. She wants him, but he immediately throws her into the “just friends” category.

And when he shows up at the best party in town with last years “it girl”, Layla knows that she could never compete.

But they strike up a friendship and become very close.

They both seem to understand each other and they can laugh. Layla has never felt anything like she does for Trip. But as the school year wages on, misunderstanding after misunderstanding keeps them apart.

After graduation, they have one more summer before the group of friends go their separate ways. Layla and Trip start to uncover what they could be together.

Layla has her future planned out, it will be so perfect.

But then everything changes. What she thought would be her happily ever after, becomes something different.

At the crossroads of her life, she has to say goodbye to the friends she has made and the family she has created.

This is the part of the book where a box of tissues would come in handy.

This book was a little tedious at times, but the ending… Ripped. Me. Apart. I grew to love the characters and I had a plan for them. Even though going in, I knew how it had to end. I wanted a different ending!  So, now I simply have to read the next one. I have to know what happens next.

I really hope that book 2 moves a little faster. That was the only major issue I had with this book. The first kiss didn’t happen until about 60% into the book. It got a little too steamy in the end to really be appropriate for younger readers. It seemed to be stuck in limbo between New Adult and Young Adult genres. Despite that, I still really enjoyed it. It was quite humorous at times. Being set in the 90’s,  it was somewhat of a throwback to my high school days.

There was strong character development, good writing, amazing chemistry, and a heart breaking ending. It lost points for me in the pacing and in small part,  to the dynamics of the book. I could have done without some of the communication drama. I suppose that time of your life is rife with it, but it was still annoying at times. So if you like YA books and aren’t afraid to wade through all of the Aqua Net, angst and back yard keggers…then this one is for you.

4 stars for me.

red_star_4_of_5-5405838cef8c4750ec26237ed6595e7c

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2014, 4 Stars, Heather's reviews, New Adult and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

