More Than Her (More #2) by Jay McLean

More Than Her (More #2)
by Jay McLean

“For every action there is an equal or opposite reaction.”

For every choice you make there are rewards,
or there are consequences.
It was my choice to walk away the first time.
And my choice to chase her the second.
But sometimes you don’t get a choice,
and all you get are the consequences.

“Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength,
while loving someone deeply gives you courage.”

Unless that someone is Logan Matthews.
Because loving him didn’t give me
the strength to walk away.
It didn’t give me
the courage to fight for him.
And when it was over,
all it gave me was a broken heart.

BorderBorder

Heather’s Thoughts:

More than her is book two in the More series. It is not necessary to read book one before reading this one. Characters from book one do make an appearance, but their back-story is not primary or critical to understand before reading this one. If you have ready anything by Jay McLean, you will know that this woman can write a gut wrenching angst filled romance like nobody’s business. This one is no exception.

This is the story of Amanda and Logan. Amanda meets Logan one night and he convinces her to go out on a date with him. They spend one amazing and life changing night together. They talk, they laugh and they discover that love can happen in a night.

But Logan leaves. He breaks her heart and sets forth a series of events that can never be undone.

Flash forward. Amanda is now in college and she is living with her brother, Ethan. They are getting by but times are tough. In walks Logan. He becomes their new roommate.

He soon discovers what he did when he walked away has left its mark on Amanda. But he can’t help but fall for her all over again.

Soon, they can no longer deny the attraction that they have for one another. When Logan and Amanda come together, they are absolutely amazing.

But, not everything good can last forever. Logan has a past. His childhood was anything but happy. His demons come forward and Amanda gets caught in the crossfire.

Logan never wanted to hurt her. He never wanted her to get caught up in his past.

So Logan does the one and only thing he knows how to do.

His past left him damaged, his future is no longer his.

Amanda is beyond crushed. She is left dealing with trauma, heartbreak, loneliness and she doesn’t get any answers.

Yes there is a big ‘ole ugly cliffhanger. But did I care? NO!

Bravo Jay McLean! I adored this book! Logan was so romantic and sweet and loveable. He makes some horrid decisions that leave Amanda reeling time and again. When they are together, and times are good, they are magic. Logan heals Amanda, he makes her whole. He catches her tears. He makes the pain and the hut finally go away.

“So my dad—he told me that instead of living life by time and dates, to live them by moments. And instead of trying to remember how old I was or what day it was, try to remember how I felt during those moments.”

The chemistry is undeniable. The sex, oh the sex. *whew*.  *swoon*

I don’t want to tell you too much and give away what happens. I will tell you this, it will wreck you. I didn’t read this book until the next one was already out so the cliffy didn’t bother me too much. I read them back to back.

Lucy, drunk Lucy. She is a trip! (Book four is Cam and Lucy, Oh Yea!)

“I’m not fucking calling you a slut!” She took a step forward. “But if cocks had wings you’d be fucking airport.”

So if you love a good angst filled college romance, this one is for you. It was extremely well written. Dual points of view. The story is told through flashes back in time. Normally that annoys the snot out of me, but this one worked. It wasn’t overly confusing and it was well done. These two characters are on a journey through young adulthood. They are discovering themselves and learning what love is all about. Jay McLean is an amazing writer! She can give you depth While we don’t get all of the answers in this book, the next one delivers the goods! Hang on to your hats and get your tissues handy!

4.5 rounding up to 5 stars.

red_star_5_of_5-bb0a37528bbb2ff1f4b732afff2bb968

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2014, 5 Stars- Best of the Best, Heather's reviews, New Adult and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

