Transcendence by Shay Savage

Transcendence
by Shay Savage

It’s said that women and men are from two different planets when it comes to communication, but how can they overcome the obstacles of prehistoric times when one of them simply doesn’t have the ability to comprehend language?

Ehd’s a caveman living on his own in a harsh wilderness. He’s strong and intelligent, but completely alone. When he finds a beautiful young woman in his pit trap, it’s obvious to him that she is meant to be his mate. He doesn’t know where she came from; she’s wearing some pretty odd clothing, and she makes a lot of noises with her mouth that give him a headache. Still, he’s determined to fulfill his purpose in life – provide for her, protect her, and put a baby in her.

Elizabeth doesn’t know where she is or exactly how she got there. She’s confused and distressed by her predicament, and there’s a caveman hauling her back to his cavehome. She’s not at all interested in Ehd’s primitive advances, and she just can’t seem to get him to listen. No matter what she tries, getting her point across to this primitive, but beautiful, man is a constant – and often hilarious – struggle.

With only each other for company, they must rely on one another to fight the dangers of the wild and prepare for the winter months. As they struggle to coexist, theirs becomes a love story that transcends language and time.

BorderBorder

Heather’s Thoughts:
If I had to use one word to describe this book, it would be epic. One of my first full length novel reads for fun was Jean M. Auel’s Clan of the Cave Bear. This book took me on a journey that was similar but also very different. The main characters were from different eras, but they discover that love transcends time. It was an absolutely amazing love story.

Ehd is a young man who has been on his own for far too long. His tribe has long been gone. He has survived many seasons on his own and he has grown tired and weary. One day while out hunting, he discovers more in one of his pit traps than a meal. He finds a young woman. She is nothing like he has ever seen. She wears strange clothes and she make mouth sounds almost constantly. Ehd decides she would be a perfect mate for him.

“I will provide for her. I will protect her. I will give her anything she wants.”

He takes her back to his modest cave and attempts to proved for her and make her happy in the hopes of starting a new tribe with her. He finds her beautiful and despite her annoying noises and lack of basic survival skills, he sees her worth right from the start.

Beh, or Beth, attempts repeatedly to teach Ehd how to talk to her. Ehd is not interested though. He has never used so many word sounds.

Beh has to realize that her tribe is gone and that Ehd will help her make a new tribe. They rely on each other and Ehd provides for her and shows her his ways. She soon starts making him accommodate her as well. She gets him to bathe in the lake and brush his teeth with mint leaves. He is her protector.

“I don’t care if she ever makes a basket that can hold grain, but I want her to be here with me. I want her to be close to me as I work or fish, and I want her to lie next to me in the furs at night. In my mind, she is with me always and forever.
Finally, its clear to me that I want her for more than children.”

Beh can’t help but fall for this rugged man who shows her so much kindness. They begin to have sex and Ehd is determined to put a baby in her. Beh is very reluctant but he eventually wins her over.

“My life with Beh was beautiful, transcending everything that set us apart from each other.”

This story covers the span of their lives. It is heartbreaking and heartwarming. I can’t even tell you all the feelings I felt. It is told from Ehd’s point of view until the Epilogue where we get a glimpse of Beh. The basic premise is a time travel love story but it felt like so much more than that. I absolutely adore Shay Savages’ writing. She has a way of telling a story that makes you feel so many emotions. I am in awe of her diversity. This was a totally different kind of love story.

There is a lot of sexual exploration in this one so it is not for younger readers. I am amazed that the whole story was done from Ehd’s point of view. He is a man who hardly ever speaks and when he does it is monosyllabic or grunting noises. Despite that or maybe because of that, the story was so rich and amazing. There was very little dialogue.

If you are looking for something unique and amazing, read this one. You will not be disappointed.

4.5 rounding up to 5 Stars!

red_star_5_of_5-bb0a37528bbb2ff1f4b732afff2bb968

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2014, 5 Stars- Best of the Best, Heather's reviews, Historical Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Transcendence by Shay Savage

  1. I loved this book. I just reviewed it

Leave a Reply

