Dirty by, Megan Hart

845150

This is what happened…

 I met him at the candy store.

He turned and smiled at me and I was surprised enough to smile back. This was not a children’s candy store, mind you. This was the kind of place you went to buy expensive imported chocolate truffles for your boss’s wife because you felt guilty for having sex with him when you were both at a conference in Milwaukee.

Hypothetically speaking, of course.

I’ve been hit on plenty of times, mostly by men with little finesse who thought what was between their legs made up for what they lacked between their ears.

Sometimes I went home with them anyway, just because it felt good to want and be wanted, even if it was mostly fake.

The problem with wanting is that it’s like pouring water into a vase full of stones. It fills you up before you know it, leaving no room for anything else. I don’t apologize for who I am or what I’ve done in or out of bed.

I have my job, my house and my life, and for a long time I haven’t wanted anything else.

Until Dan. Until now.

Border

Sammy Loves Books’ Review

5 “Emotionally Dirty” Stars

I wasn’t prepared for how emotionally deep this book was. Elle is a beautiful, very intelligent VP for an accounting firm. Elle knows she is beautiful so to offset unwanted advances from men, she dresses very conservatively.

description

The mystery of her past relationships are revealed slowly as the story progresses. This story is told in first person from Elle’s point of view and it needed to be because Elle has a lot of issues. She has erected a tough exterior shell to help protect her fragile interior.

Bathroom make out session

Ella wants sex on her terms because she has an issue with feeling dirty. Though she is has no problem with having sex with strangers, she has a major problem with emotional attachments.

No

She meets Dan at the candy store and things begin to change. There is an instant attraction between Dan and Elle that neither of them can deny or explain. Dan often says to Elle,

“What are you, Elle? Are you a ghost? Are you an angel or a demon? Because you can’t be real.”

The problem lies in that the pain that Elle struggles with is all too real. Dan proves time and time again that he has the patience to deal with a woman that won’t allow him to kiss her on the lips. Neither pair of lips, if you get my meaning. Dan stole my heart as Elle continued to break it.

I'm fine

I usually don’t like my smut mixed with deep emotionally distressing subjects. I don’t wanna be sexually stimulated and crying five minutes later. That being said, I loved this story of growth and acceptance because that’s what this book was truly about. Yes, there was a lot of hot sex, but that was just the outer crust. The interior however, was full of betrayal, pain, and yearning. A woman yearning to be normal, hoping to feel clean, and learning to be able to love.

red_star_5_of_5-bb0a37528bbb2ff1f4b732afff2bb968

About Sammy Loves Books

I believe in living life to the fullest! Goodreads and Reading Haven provide a wonderful forum for discussing books. I have been exposed to amazing novels and authors I would have never known existed. Books are my favorite form of entertainment and I love writing reviews. I mostly enjoy Paranormal and Historical Romances but have recently broadened my tastes to include Dark Erotica and Gay Romance. I'll read any type of love story if a good friend recommends it to me. Recently, I discovered that I enjoy book editing. It's a hobby of mine actually. When I'm not curled up with a book you may find me swimming. I enjoy wine tasting, football, horror and action flicks. I'm tactfully honest with a wicked sense of humor. I believe in treating people with respect and love. I very rarely will give a book 5 stars unless it Wows me and just knocks me off my feet!! Occasionally, however, I will review Monster erotica books and I use a different rating system for those books. Monster erotica can not be judged against, or even compared to Romance novels. 5 Star monster erotica means it was highly erotic (made me want to be the heroine) and very well written/edited. 4 Star monster erotica is steamy but does not melt your panties. It is also well written/edited. 3 Stars means I enjoyed it, but the erotica was not very stimulating. The writing may not have flowed smoothly. 2 star monster erotica is usually very elementary in plot and world building. The sex is not erotic and the love scenes are short and non descriptive. 1 star monster erotica is torturous to read. The monster may stink, the sex is horrendous or painful, and the writing is often bad, with poor or no editing. So when you see a 5 star rating on a monster sex book, just know that scale has a Very different standard. Follow My Reviews at http://readinghaven.me
Image | This entry was posted in 2013, 5 Stars- Best of the Best, Contemporary Romance, Erotica, Romance, Sammy's Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

