Fighting Destiny (The Fae Chronicles #1) by Amelia Hutchins

Fighting Destiny (The Fae Chronicles #1)
by Amelia Hutchins

Have you ever heard of the old Celtic legends of the Fae – beautiful, magical, and deadly creatures that have a love of messing with humans just for kicks and giggles?

Welcome to my world.

What started out as a strange assignment, lead to one of the most gruesome murder mysteries of our times. My friends and I are set and determined to find out who is killing off Fae and Witches alike.

Couple of problems in the way – I hate the Fae and the Prince of the Dark Fae is bound and determined that I work for him. He’s a rude, overbearing egotistical ass with a compulsive need to possess, dominate and control me. Oh – did I mention that he is absolutely sex-on-a-stick gorgeous and he makes me feel things that I never ever wanted to feel for a Fae…every time he touches me or looks at me with those dangerous golden eyes he seems to pull me further in under his spell, despite my better judgment.

My friends and I can’t trust anyone and nothing is as it seems on the surface – not even me.

BorderBorder

Heather’s Thoughts:

Wow. This one had it all. If you love Urban Fantasy and steaming HOT chemistry, this one was amazing. Great story, wonderful world building and character development. Smoking Hot Alpha male and a kick ass heroine.

“Destiny doesn’t ask you if you want it, Syn; it just forces it into your lap, and you deal with it.”

Synthia is a witch. She fights to keep the world safe from the Fae. Since childhood, she has viewed all of the Fae, both Light and Dark, Seelie and Unseelie, as dangerous and evil. She has made it her life’s mission to rid the world of them.

Ryder is on a mission himself. He has many secrets and he has set his sights on Syn. He has hired her to complete a job. Ryder is tall dark and handsome. Oh, and he is Fae. He exudes sexual energy so strong that Syn fears for her ability to resist him. She witnessed a loved one being turned into a FIZ (Fae Induced Zombie- where their minds are overloaded and they turn into Fae lusting zombies.) She vows never to fall for Ryder even if he is the most devastating and infuriating male she has ever laid eyes on.

 

Syn is a bad ass heroine. She is tough and strong. She doesn’t need to be taken care of. She works for the coven and has been trained by the best. When Ryder sets out on his mission, he asks for the best and the council gives him Syn.

Ryder is determined to get Synthia in his bed…but she has other ideas.

Synthia resists him. She runs, but nothing is more enticing to Ryder than the chase.

The chemistry is hot and fast. When Ryder finally catches Syn, they are explosive.

But Ryder is not a “one woman” kind of man. He is also not a “relationship” kind of man. He only wants to get Synthia out of his system and then he can move on.

But once is never enough…

Synthia begins to realize that she is more than she thought and all is not as it seemed.

“So help me, if you turned me into a fucking Vampire, I’ll bite your dick off!”

Ryder sees her strength and her beauty. He craves her like a drug.

“I’ll be strong for you, Syn …if you need it. You don’t always have to be the strong one. I’ll be your glue if you want to crumble. I’ll hold you together,” he said, lifting his eyes and meeting mine.
“And what if you’re what’s making me crumble, Ryder? What then?”
His lips lifted into his sexy smirk. “Then I’ll put you back together. I will never tear you down, Syn. I will always protect you from anything and everything that would.”

Revelations occur that rock Syn’s foundation. (I can’t tell you too much but it was SHOCKING)

At the end of book one, I am left with one feeling…LOVE!!!

I love Amelia Hutchins! And I LOVE Sythia. She is amazing! And Ryder, oh my dear sweet Ryder. You are one hot Alpha hunk of male. *swoon*

“Love is more than just feeling something Syn, it’s the connection of two souls that intertwine and cannot be without the other. It’s not just saying you love someone, it’s showing them with every fucking breath you take, every look. It just is, simple as that. That kind of love doesn’t die. It withers the soul without the other to keep it alive.”

Ryder has no idea who Synthia really is or what she is capable of. All he knows is that she is exceptional and that he has to have her. Being a Fae, he doesn’t think he knows how to love. Synthia wants so much more from life than to be the toy of a race she has spent her life despising.

This writing was incredible. I started my reading obsession with Urban Fantasy. I have read so many UF books that I had recently run out of good material. (Seriously a problem in my book!).  Along comes this series and I am hooked! How did I not find this sooner! This series reminded me of Karen Marie Moning’s Fever series. It was that good!

It is told from both Synthia and Ryders points of view. There is some world building but it is so seamlessly done that you don’t even know that it is going on. The chemistry between Ryder and Synthia is absolutely amazing. It is instant and combustible. They begin to develop a love/hate relationship and the snarky banter is hilarious.

I adore this writing style. This series is witty and sexy and leaves me coming back for more.

Well done! 5 stars!

red_star_5_of_5-bb0a37528bbb2ff1f4b732afff2bb968

 

 

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2014, 5 Stars- Best of the Best, Heather's reviews, Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

