The Devil’s Flower (The Eternal Beings #1) by Lisa Collicutt

The Devil’s Flower (The Eternal Beings #1)
by Lisa Collicutt

Killing isn’t exactly on Rosalie Lockwood’s list of things to do when she runs away from home. But despite her search for peace; guns and motorcycles become her latest fashion accessories as Divine interference leads her to Steele, co-leader of the Fallen Paladins motorcycle club.

Leathered and tattooed, Steele’s presence scares off most people he comes in contact with — but not Rosalie. She’s immediately drawn into the dangers of his biker world—and into his heart.

But Steele guards a secret that if Rosalie knew, could shatter their new love — along with destroy the human race. And the truth comes at a price.

Will Rosalie risks her soul to prove her loyalty to Steele?

The Dark and Light Realms collide as Rosalie chooses between life, death, and the ever-after to become that which she is fated to destroy.


 

Heather’s Thoughts:

I didn’t know exactly what I was getting into when I started this one. It turned out to be a well done YA /Urban Fantasy. There is a sex scene so I wouldn’t recommend it to younger teens but it would be appropriate for older teens and young adults.

Our story starts with Rosalie on the run. She is running from a home life that was less than stellar. Her step father was abusive and her home life was hell on earth. So when she got the chance to run, she took it.

Rosalie ends up on the side of the road and in need of assistance when along comes Steele. He is everything she should be afraid of. He is in a motorcycle club. He takes her into the heart of his territory and introduces her to his brother. Steele is the VP in the club and his brother is President. Steele also introduces Rosalie to a life she never knew existed.

Rosalie was innocent and good when she met Steele. She becomes captivated by the life he leads. She knows she can never return home. She needs help and she needs a place to stay. But Steele and his family are not what they seem. Soon Rosalie discovers that she may not even know who she really is.

Secrets are revealed and Rosalie is thrust into a world that only existed previously in her dreams.

“One drop of blood, a single tear shed for love, and the angel’s last, dying breath.”

As Rosalie begins to have feelings for Steele, she begins to understand how they can never be together. But she doesn’t care.

Steele is not so easily swayed. He knows that they can never be and he tries to protect Rosalie from his life.

He wants more for her than the life he leads.

But fate has other plans.

Rosalie is willing to risk everything. She is willing to go to Hell and back to save Steele. She would do anything for him.

But in the end, will it all be enough?

Like I said earlier, I didn’t quite know what to expect with this one. I am very glad that I gave it a chance. The writing was very well done. I found myself sucked in and waiting to see what would happen next. There were lots of twists and turns. I really enjoyed the characters.

Rosalie was abused but not broken. She was not giving up or giving in to her past. Rosalie fought for herself and for those she came to care about.  She was strong and despite being thrust into the world of the supernatural, she went with the punches. I found myself genuinely liking her and wanting to see her succeed.

Steel was also an amazing character. His motives were suspect and times but he definitely ended up being someone I could like. It helped that he was a tattooed and hot bad boy. The secondary characters were interesting but not as well-developed. This is the introduction to what appears to be a series so perhaps we will learn more about them.

Overall I am giving this one four stars. There were a few times that it skipped forward really fast and it felt like there was something missing. It was like the author had put more in and then edited it out choppily. Not sure. Anyway, the vast majority of the book was amazing, so four stars!

red_star_4_of_5-5405838cef8c4750ec26237ed6595e7c

**A copy of this book was provided by the author via NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. **

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2014, 4 Stars, Heather's reviews, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Devil’s Flower (The Eternal Beings #1) by Lisa Collicutt

  1. Pingback: The Devil’s Flower (The Eternal Beings #1) by Lisa Collicutt | The Devil's Flower

  2. Reblogged this on The Devil's Flower and commented:
    Graphic review of The Devil’s Flower

Leave a Reply

