Bad Things (Tristan & Danika #1) by R.K. Lilley

Bad Things (Tristan & Danika #1)
by R.K. Lilley

Danika hasn’t had an easy life. Being insanely attracted to bad boys has never helped make it easier.

One look at Tristan, and every brain cell she possessed went up in smoke. This man was trouble with a capital T. It was a given.
She knew better. Bad boys were bad. Especially for her. Considering her history, it was crazy to think otherwise. So why did crazy have to feel so damn fine?

For as long as she could remember, Danika had been focused on the future with single-minded purpose. Tristan came along and taught her everything there was to know about letting go, and living in the present. She fell, hard and deep. Of course, that only made her impact with the ground that much more devastating.

Bad Things is about Tristan and Danika, and their train wreck of a love story. This series can be read as a standalone, or with the Up in the Air series.

Bad Things is a full length novel, at roughly 105,000 words.
This book is intended for ages 18 and up.

BorderBorder

Heather’s Thoughts:

This review is for all three books in this series.

Wow. I read all three books back to back, within two days. I could not put these down. There were times when the drama got a bit too dramatic. A few WTF moments as well. But aside from that, and those were small problems, this series was amazing. The chemistry between our lead characters was scorching. Both characters were interesting and multifaceted. Well done!

Danika is a young woman who has worked hard to get where she is at. She is nineteen and a live in nanny for a family who befriended her. She was placed in foster care as a child due to her mother’s drug abuse. Danika is a relationship girl. She is interested in a good relationship with a solid guy. The problem she has is that she tends to fall for the bad boys who want nothing to do with relationships.

Tristan is a friend of Danika’s employer. When he needs a place to crash, they offer him the couch. Danika is forced to befriend Tristan. Tristan is immediately drawn to Danika’s exotic beauty.Tristan is not a relationship kind of guy. He is a tattooed hot head who can be a little crazy at times. He offers her a romp in the hay, no strings attached. Danika doesn’t go for it, but he is not quite ready to give up. The flirting begins and a friendship develops before they know it.

They start hanging out and going to clubs. Tristan is an event promoter and the lead singer in a band. Everything Danika has sworn she would never fall for.

But the chemistry, oh the chemistry, it is palpable. Danika is drawn to Tristan’s enormous…..biceps.

And his enormous cock.

But I am getting ahead of myself. This couple could be on an episode of Jersey Shore. They fight over and over and then they make up over and over. The drama is pretty intense.

“Didn’t you know I was out here, just waiting for a friend like you?”
“Of course I didn’t know. I’d have been dancing on top of every bar in town, instead of studying, if I’d known that.”
“Tell me not to kiss you,” he said, when his lips were a breath away from mine.
“Don’t kiss me,” I told him, my voice a breathless rasp.
“Mean it,” he said, crowding me into the corner of the pool.
He tilted my chin up with his finger.
“I can’t,” I gasped.
The words had barely left my lips before he was kissing me.” Bad Things

They begin a “friends with benefits” relationship. Of course Danika is not eager to get her heart involved but she can’t help but start to feel something for this enigmatic man.

Tristan is not good with words, but his over the top Alpha male jealousy shows Danika how he feels.

“I’m going to fuck you hard on the hood of this car, in the pouring rain. And. You. Are. Not. Going. To. Forget. It.”- Bad Things

As things progress, obstacles are thrown in their paths.

Life gets complicated.

Can they survive what life throws their way? Who will they be when the dust settles?

“Even love couldn’t cushion a fall like ours. My love for Tristan was so big that I felt consumed by it, and even so, it was not enough to overpower our combined demons.
I struggled. I yelled and screamed. I scratched and kicked.
I fought like hell, but even the most determined fighters have to stop before they break.
No one could say I didn’t fight for him,”- Rock Bottom

How did I feel while reading this book…

In a word… aroused. Tristan was one seriously hot piece of man candy. Holy hell he did it for me. He was a crazy-ass bad boy with a giant chip on his shoulder. He was also extremely charming and an all around fun guy. He was funny and extraordinarily flawed. Tristan could change moods with a drop of the hat. He was so possessive and domineering at times it was a bit scary. Despite that, I fell in love with him. I got his domineering ways and that made him seem less crazy and more sweet.

“Danika, sweetheart?” he rasped. “Yes, Tristan?” “I’m done being sweet, if you don’t mind. I need to fuck you really hard now, if that’s okay.”- Bad Things

I absolutely adored Danika as well. I felt so much of her pain and anguish. This story covers a LOT of years. In that time, she and Tristan go through some pretty remarkable changes. A lot happens in their lives and they are forced to grow up quickly. Danika discovers what a family really is and what she can and can not live without. Sometimes when a flame burns too bright, people are bound to get burned. Tristan and Danika are no exception.

The side characters were significant. Dean in particular starts out as a creepy guy but turns into something so much more. I won’t spoil it for you, but keep your eye on him. The story was so well done that I couldn’t come up with much to complain about. The whole thing was highly entertaining and swoon worthy. So if you are looking for a good dramatic and erotic love story, this one is for you.

5 stars for all three!

red_star_5_of_5-bb0a37528bbb2ff1f4b732afff2bb968

 

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2014, 5 Stars- Best of the Best, Contemporary Romance, Erotica, Heather's reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

