Hardwired (Hacker #1) by Meredith Wild

Hardwired (Hacker #1)
by Meredith Wild

Determined to overcome a difficult past, Erica Hathaway learns early on to make it on her own. Days after her college graduation, she finds herself face to face with a panel of investors who will make or break her fledgling startup. The only thing she didn’t prepare for was going weak in the knees over an arrogant and gorgeous investor who seems determined to derail her presentation.

Billionaire and rumored hacker Blake Landon has already made his fortune in software, and he’s used to getting what he wants. Captivated by Erica’s drive and unassuming beauty, he’s wanted nothing more than to possess her since she stepped into his boardroom. Determined to win her over, he breaks down her defenses and fights for her trust, even if it means sacrificing a level of control he’s grown accustomed to.

But when Blake uncovers a dark secret from Erica’s past, he threatens not just her trust, but the life she’s fought so hard to create.


 

Heather’s Thoughts:

Amazon, how could you do this to me. Your recommendations have always been so good. I trusted you to give me good smut with a back story worth reading and this is what I got?

Our main characters, Erica and Blake stumble upon each other when Erica trips over her shoe while exiting a restaurant. She falls right into the arms of the enigmatic and handsome, dominating billionaire….Blake. (You thought I was going to say Christian didn’t you?)

Erica is our recent college grad who is starting up an online business that helps people with fashion. Now, Erica is looking for funding for her little enterprise. So when she shows up at the big sales pitch and sees Blake, she is thrown a bit. And in true domineering asshat fashion he shoots her business and brains down and finds a way to see if she is single all in one fell swoop.

Erica immediately wants him and hates him at the same time! Oh, but he wears the most amazing clothes and he wears them so well!

Erica has some issues of her own. She is not easily led astray. She wants nothing more that to be successful.

But how can she resist a man who takes control the way Blake does?

She just can’t resist. Those damn hormones will get you every time ladies!

She tries to resist but she just can’t get over Blake’s persistence.

So when Blake starts controlling her life and finding ways to get her under his thumb, this smart Harvard grad lets him.

After all, the make up sex is the best.

But wait, Erica does stand up for herself. She runs away… far, far away. And then texts him to say “I miss you”.  And when he shows up giving her the cold shoulder, she is confused.

But its all good, because here comes the sex.

And then she realizes she is in love with this crazy man. She would do anything for him. Including not question how he seems to know her every move.

Because he just has make-up sex and she forgets about it. (Harvard Grad…remember.)

Let us not forget that this is one of those books…

I really hate when authors feel the need to describe outfits to death. I don’t care what color of V neck sweater he wore to a T. And I really don’t care what shoes you used to pull the outfit together.

By the end of this book I was even skimming the sex scenes. I apologize to the author but for some reason I really did not like this one.

I gave this one two stars because I finished it, albeit barely. And because when Erica and Blake first got together, the sex was hot. I just couldn’t buy into the story. By the end, I found myself skimming. I read ludicrous passages out-loud to my husband, who got a good laugh out of it. Erica was SO immature.

There were significant issues that were underplayed and small issues that were overplayed. Where was the editor on this one? Some of the dialogue was just painful. Erica was not very likable either. She threw her friend under the bus several times and was plain old nasty to her. Then Blake told her she couldn’t be friends with her anymore. WTF?

So, 2 small stars for me. This book got high marks from other readers so I would advise checking out their reviews first. It might just be me.

red_star_2_of_5-c2dc927ef819cd002ed176a488737bde

 

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2 Stars, 2014, BDSM, Contemporary Romance and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

