Unfixable by Tessa Bailey

Unfixable
by Tessa Bailey

He’s the last thing she wants…but the only thing she needs.

Willa Peet isn’t interested in love. She’s been there, done that, and has the shattered heart to prove it. Ready to shake the breakup, she heads to Dublin, Ireland. But there’s a problem. A dark-haired, blue-eyed problem with a bad attitude that rivals her own. And he’s not doling out friendly Irish welcomes.

Shane Claymore just wants to race. The death of his father forced him off the Formula One circuit, but he’s only staying in Dublin long enough to sell the Claymore Inn and get things in order for his mother and younger sister. He never expected the sarcastic American girl staying at the inn to make him question everything.

But even as Willa and Shane’s fiery natures draw them together, their pasts threaten to rip them apart. Can Shane give up racing to be with the woman he loves, or will Willa’s quest to resurrect the tough-talking, no-shit-taking girl she used to be destroy any hope of a future together?


 Heather’s Thoughts:

If you regularly read my reviews, you know I am a HUGE Tessa Bailey fan. She writes amazing characters with depth and they are always people you would want to know in real life. She makes them real. This story is no different. The other thing I love about Tessa’s writing…the sex scenes are scorching hot. She creates an atmosphere of sexual tension so thick you could cut it with a knife and then she sets it on fire. Absolutely brilliant!

With Unfixable, Tessa shows us the vulnerability of a young woman fresh off a heartbreak. She heads to Ireland to lick her wounds and get over a heartbreak that changed her. She became a person she wasn’t to please a guy and it did not end well. Now she is off to discover herself again and become the strong young woman she is meant to be.

Willa was once a tough and strong young woman with a wild child streak. Her ex-boyfriend, Evan, was a prim and proper society boy. Willa changed who she was in order to be who he wanted her to be.

“How many dinners with Evan’s freakishly perfect parents could I sit through before I impaled myself on a fork?”

When it ended, she was left picking up the pieces.

So when she entered a photography contest and won a trip to Dublin, she sees this as her perfect opportunity to figure out who she is again and get some distance.  Willa has had a rough life. Her only saving grace is her sister, Ginger. They are very close and Ginger has been like a mother to her.

Willa is not interested in getting involved with anyone again anytime soon. When she meets Shane, she is immediately annoyed with his snarky attitude.

Even though Shane annoys her, she can’t help but be attracted to him. He is annoying and full of himself and bossy to no end. But he is also devastatingly handsome, self-assured and he has the most amazing Irish lilt. He is an enigma that Willa is determined to both avoid and somehow figure out.

Shane is dealing with his own issues. He has been left to tend a bar and run a business that he doesn’t want. His mother and sister are relying on him to make the right choice and step up after his father died. But Shane is a race car driver who has lost his dream. He is the best of the best and he has had to give it all up to be who they want him to be.

Shane starts to care about Willa but she will not let him in. The attraction builds and builds until they both hit a breaking point.

“I’ll have you over him in five minutes flat, babe.” Biting my ear lightly, he fingers the snap of my jeans. “Let me take him right out of your head”

There is no soft and gentle when they collide. They are both  starving for each other and neither can get enough.

As Willa starts to open up, she begins to heal past wounds.

Her time in Ireland is almost up and she is going home. How can she leave behind this family that she has grown to care about?

Will she realize she is in love with Shane before it is too late?

“Love comes in many forms. It’s not always sweet. Or comfortable. Sometimes it’s selfish and consuming. Volatile.”  

Will they get their happily ever after?

Well, you will just have to read it and find out!

Well done Tessa Bailey! I am as always, a huge fan. This book was beautiful and had a bit more depth in my opinion. It was heavier on the story line and lighter on the steam. There was a long and slow build up to the action. I see some people were turned off by this. It is not in keeping with Tessa’s usual style, but I enjoyed it. The tension was absolutely delicious.

I LOVED Shane. He was annoying at first, but when you get to know him, you realize why he has such a tough exterior. He is an honest and good man. Willa is absolutely amazing. I adored her. Her sister Ginger, was the lead female in Protecting What’s His.

It was a fairly quick read even at 260 pages. I would put it firmly in the New Adult genre as both Willa and Shane are young and trying to find their way in the world. The romance is sweet and there are a few melt-your-heart, swoon worthy moments. I would definitely recommend this one to all of my romance and new adult friends. I would give this one a high four star rating rounding up to five.

red_star_5_of_5-bb0a37528bbb2ff1f4b732afff2bb968

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2014, 5 Stars- Best of the Best, Contemporary Romance, Heather's reviews, New Adult and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

