Out of Reach by Missy Johnson

Out of Reach
by Missy Johnson

My best friend was dying and I was in love with his girl.

Andy and I had been best friends since we were eight-years old.
Watching him slowly fade away, ever closer to his final breath, made
me so incredibly angry. I knew there was nothing I could do to change it–I had given in to despair, but Andy had not. He had one last hand to play.

He wasn’t going to simply sit back and wait for Death to claim him–not Andy. He was going to live life until he couldn’t hold his eyes open any longer.

Andy didn’t want to die in some sterile hospital and asked me to take him and Emily to the beach. It would be our last road trip together.

Emily. Emily was a problem for me.

I harbored a secret that would have torn our friendship apart. I was in love with Andy’s girl, and had been since she’d walked into our sixth grade class, so many years ago.

So what kind of person am I? My best friend is dying, and it’s
awful–but my heart still aches for his girl. I hate myself for
thinking beyond Andy’s death and whether there could ever be a future for Emily and I, but I can’t help it.

I’m in love with her.


 

Heather’s Thoughts:

This was one of those books that was beautifully painful. I hated every minute of the pain and loss. But when I come out on the other side, I was so grateful that I read this little gem. Please don’t let the heavy subject matter scare you away. It was totally worth it.

Andy and Seth have been friends for as long as they can remember. They grew up with each other and are as close as brothers. Emily moved to their neighborhood and they took her into their duo and they became a trio. When Emily and Andy started dating, Seth took a backseat. His feelings for Emily were put on hold. He could never express them for fear of loosing his two best friends.

When Andy was in college, he was diagnosed with cancer. He got treatment and he got better. He and Emily became closer. As he went through college and law school, he continued with his remission. Until one day the cancer came back. The doctors gave him a few months at best. Andy makes it his mission to do everything in his power to make sure that Emily is cared for when he is gone.

As the end draws near, Andy, Emily and Seth take off to a beach house to spend their remaining time living life to the fullest.

Andy has made peace with his fate. He wants to spend his remaining days with those he is closest to.

His heart breaks for the future that will never be. He knows that Seth can care for Emily now that he can not.

Emily can’t cope with Andy’s rapid decline. She does everything she can to remember the good times. Andy tries to get her to focus on the positives.

There are no words for the pain that Emily must cope with.

As time moves on, Emily finds herself pulling away from everyone.

Emily is strong, but with Seth she is stronger.

Months later, they are still grieving and learning lessons

Emily must decide if she is willing to take a risk with Seth.

This book wrecked me! There were numerous times where I had to stop and grab the tissues. The author did an amazing job of bringing these wonderful characters to life. The narrative was told through all three main characters points of view. It was absolutely gut wrenching. I don’t want to give away the ending but It was a satisfying ending for me.

I usually read books with less sad and more sex. This one was definitely on the mild end sexually but I didn’t even notice. The rest of the story was so well done that I really didn’t miss it. When we finally do get some steam, it is glossed over. I will say, normally I would deduct for that, but this time, I just didn’t care. I loved this book so much.  There is something about knowing you are going to die and dealing with it at such a young age that just rips your heart out. Life can be so cruel.

I would gladly advise you to grab your tissues and read this one. I had to remind myself that this was a fictional book and no-one actually died. I was that sucked in. Well done!

red_star_5_of_5-bb0a37528bbb2ff1f4b732afff2bb968

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2014, 5 Stars- Best of the Best, Contemporary Romance, Heather's reviews, New Adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

