Love, In English by Karina Halle

Love, In English
by Karina Halle

He’s thirty-eight. I’m twenty-three.

He speaks Spanish. I speak English.

He lives in Spain. I live in Canada.

He dresses in thousand-dollar suits. I’m covered in tattoos.

He’s married and has a five-year old daughter. I’m single and can’t commit to anyone or anything.

Until now.Because when they say you can’t choose who you fall in love with, boy ain’t that the f*#king truth.

***

To a restless dreamer like Vera Miles, it sounded like the experience of a lifetime. Instead of spending her summer interning for her astronomy major, she would fly to Spain where she’d spend a few weeks teaching conversational English to businessmen and women, all while enjoying free room and board at an isolated resort. But while Vera expected to get a tan, meet new people and stuff herself with wine and paella, she never expected to fall in love.

Mateo Casalles is unlike anyone Vera has ever known, let alone anyone she’s usually attracted to. While Vera is a pierced and tatted free spirit with a love for music and freedom, Mateo is a successful businessman from Madrid, all sharp suits and cocky Latino charm. Yet, as the weeks go on, the two grow increasingly close and their relationship changes from purely platonic to something…more.

Something that makes Vera feel alive for the first time.

Something that can never, ever be.

Or so she thinks.


Heather’s Thoughts:

 

“He slowly turned around. “What is love? In English.”
I raised my brows. “Love, in English, is love?”
“What is it in Spanish?”
I was so enthralled by his hypnotic eyes, I could barely remember. “Amore?”
He shook his head ever so slightly. “No. Love in Spanish is you.”

This book. is. amazing. If you haven’t read it, you really must. I haven’t read one that made me feel so much in a really long time. This one is definitely one of my favorites of the year!

Vera is a young college student from Canada. She is an astronomy major and she is looking for an adventure. Vera is a free spirit and she has no hang ups with herself or with her sexuality. She is going to Spain to teach non-English speakers how to speak more fluent English and she does not speak any Spanish. When she arrives in Spain, her first advice from the agency, “Don’t fall in love.”

Mateo is a business man. He is married and has a daughter. He and his wife have been married for many years. He is no longer happy with his life but he has no idea just how unhappy he is until he going on a trip to improve his English. He will be immersed in the language and paired up with an English speaker for three weeks.

Vera knows that she should stay away from Mateo. He’s married after all. But he is just so charming and attractive.

Vera thinks that she is being good. She does not act on her growing feelings for Mateo. She tries her best to hide it. But everyone around them knows that they have feelings for each other.

“You’re like his favorite food in the whole world. He wants to have you, eat you, devour you. He thinks about you all the time, craves you. But, he cannot have you for one reason or another. Perhaps you upset his stomach. Maybe he is on a diet, yes? All he wants is a taste but he cannot even have that. That is how he looks at you.”

As their time together comes to a close, Vera knows that she can not act on her feelings. Mateo knows that he shouldn’t act on his feelings.

But neither of them are able to let it go.

They come to the conclusion that they will give in to their desires for as long as they can.

When Vera heads back to Canada, she is heartbroken. Mateo is still married and he has a child. Vera knows that what they did was wrong. She can’t be that woman, the one who breaks up the happy family. She knows all about “the other woman”. But love, it will not be denied.

“Love is like a thief, it robs you of all thought and logic, and all you have left is a heart that you can only pray is strong enough to survive the rest”

Without him, she is a shell of her former self. She feels completely lost.

When their secret romance comes out, not everyone is happy.

Mateo must decide what to do. It is not just his marriage on the line. He has a daughter that he would do anything for.

“And what if I was only supposed to burn for a certain amount of time?” I whispered. “What if I was only meant to shine for a while?”

“Then you truly don’t know what stars are meant to do.”

I looked at him in wonder.

“They are meant to give us hope in the face of infinity”.”

Vera is young. She has no idea what this is doing to Mateo. He wants to be with her, but she can’t understand why things have to be the way they are.

Mateo is steadfast in his feelings for her. He knows what he wants and he is willing to be patient.

The ending….

Absolute best book ending EVER!!!!

This book was sheer romantic genius. The author did an amazing job of creating characters that are real and beautifully flawed. Mateo is struggling to come to grips with a life that is very different from the one he had envisioned. He was a world-class soccer player. He had a bright career ahead of him. When he ends up running restaurants for a living instead of living his dream, he becomes very frustrated. Mateo finds happiness in the most unlikely of places.

**This book involves cheating. If you are averse to cheating in any way, this book may not be for you.**

I would not classify this book as erotica but there is definitely some amazing and scorching hot action. The thing that stands out the most in my mind is the tender and intimate relationship that develops between Mateo and Vera. Mateo is more patient and he is willing to do whatever he has to do in order to have Vera in his life.

Vera is a bit of a wild card. She struggles with her feelings. She can’t deny the love in her heart, but she struggles with the morality of the situation. When Vera went back to Canada and they were forced to talk through e-mail and text. It was beautiful agony. The author put me in Vera’s shoes and she made my heart ache.

I absolutely ADORED this book. I was laughing, crying and swooning all over the place. The end of this book absolutely wrecked me. It was the best.

So go forth my friends, and read this heart-breakingly beautiful love story that will have you crying happy tears!


5 HUGE stars!!!

red_star_5_of_5-bb0a37528bbb2ff1f4b732afff2bb968

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in 2014, 5 Stars- Best of the Best, Contemporary Romance, Heather's reviews, Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

