Mr. X by Clarissa Wild

Mr. X
by Clarissa Wild

*Author Note: This is not your average romance story. Some people will kill for love.*

He’s come to kill me.

I’m a user and abuser of my own body. In my darkest hour I sold my soul to the devil and now I must pay the price. With his gun to my head I have no choice but to listen and obey, but I refuse to go down easily. Nothing is stronger than the will to survive. My instincts kicked into full gear the second he stepped into my motel room.

Except when I look at him I see my own heart staring back at me. A history tainted by blood.

I don’t know his name, but I know he wants me. To save myself I’ll sacrifice my sanity. My body. My soul. Something tells me the x-shaped scar that marks his eye is the only escape I have. He is Mr. X: the man who comes to claim my life. Can I save myself before he demands my heart?
WARNING: This book contains very disturbing situations, dubious consent, breath deprivation, strong language, drugs and alcohol, and graphic violence.


Heather’s Thoughts:

This was a very dark story about a young woman named Jay who can not remember her childhood. She knows that bad things happened to her but she can not remember what. She is young but street hardened and wise. Jay is working at a strip club and turning small tricks to support her cocaine habit.

Jay finds herself in a difficult situation and in pops a man who scares her more than anyone she has ever met before. There is something about him that is different, but Jay can only think of one thing, escape.

The man who takes her captive goes only by Mr. X. He has the hardened look of a killer, because that is what he is. He is an assassin, hired to kill.

Wherever Mr. X goes, he leaves death in his wake. If you are lucky, your death comes quickly, but X likes to play and his idea of play will make you scream.

Mr. X takes Jay and makes her his captive. She is unwilling and uncooperative. She doesn’t know why she is still alive. All she knows is that Mr. X has an interest in her and she sees that as her ticket out of this hell.

But she has no idea how deep the rabbit hole goes. This game has been going on for far longer than Jay can even comprehend.

As Jay learns more about X, she discovers that he is truly a sadistic and sick man. He wants her to see it all.

Jay learns that she may just be safer with the monster she is with than on the streets alone.

But hate and love begin to blur and soon, all that they both knew is turned upside down.

Mr. X takes Jay to heights that she never dreamed of. She is a slave to his touch and he revels in the pain and ecstasy.

Jay soon learns more about he enigma that is Mr. X. She can not help but feel for him. But as her memory starts to unravel, will she ever be able to forgive him?

In the end, will she ever be able to love a monster? And can the monster ever really learn to love her back?

Mr. X, what have you done…

Well, this little gem was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review. I have to say that I was blown away. I absolutely loved this story. Jay is a pretty complex character. She was a spoiled rich girl who ends up on the streets and addicted to cocaine. She finds herself at the mercy of a sadist who pushes her to the brink over and over again.

The sex in this book is definitely not for everyone. It is hard and rough and there are no safe-words. It is not safe, it is not sane, and at times it is not necessarily consensual. X has no boundaries with Jay. His only goal, to make her beg him for it. So he takes her to the edge time and again until she can hardly stand it.

Mr. X turns out to be way more than what you see on the surface. He is a smart and cunning killer who has mastered the art of manipulation. He is also meticulous in his planning. So when his plan goes out the window, you know you are in for a treat.

This book reminds me of Captive in the Dark by C.J. Roberts. It has that same dark and gritty feel that leaves you wondering who to trust and what to believe. There were several twists in this book that took my by surprise. The main male character is an anti-hero and the main female is not all that likeable in the beginning. Despite that or maybe because of that, I was sucked in. It takes a good story-teller to make you read about two messed up people who come together in such a tragic way.

Exceptionally dark and twisted…I loved it!

red_star_5_of_5-bb0a37528bbb2ff1f4b732afff2bb968

About Reading Haven

I am a thirty something wife and mother of two. I read in all of my free time. I can't remember the last time I chose to watch television. I would prefer reading or hanging out online24/7 but one must pay the bills, thus my day job. I like UF but lately have been exploring more erotica and adult romance novels. I love a good Alpha male and I am not afraid of the dark stuff. I like historical romance as well. Sometimes I go for the YA stuff. I'm a sap for a good love story. I prefer a HEA (insert unicorns, rainbows and kittens). Genres I will read: Contemporary Romance and some Historical Romance, Erotica, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, and Paranormal Romance.
Image | This entry was posted in Dark Erotica, Heather's reviews, Romantic Suspense and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

